USA announce squad for Malaga and Seville 7s

USA Head Coach Mike Friday has released a 14-man squad for Malaga and Seville 7s scheduled for January 21-23 and 28-30, respectively.

Perry Baker will earn his 50th World Series cap while Chase Haskin earns his first cap in the Series.

Faitala Talapusi will play for the first time since Paris 2018 as Olympian Maceo Brown returning for the first time since the Tokyo Games.

David Still makes the squad for the first time since Edmonton 2021. Lucas LaCamp, Jack Wendling and Folau Niua are unavailable.

Malacchi Esdale, Ben Broselle, Adam Channel, Jake Lachina, Cody Melphy and Jerome Nale are all unavailable due to injury.

USA are drawn in Pool C with home team Spain, Samoa and Argentina. Spain are ranked 10th overall after finishing 10th in both Dubai events.

Samoa will play in their first World Series event of the 2022 Season while Argentina are ranked 2nd overall after claiming back-to-back bronze medals in Dubai.

USA Squad

  1. Carlin Isles Wing 59
  2. Logan Tago Forward 2
  3. Gavan D’Amore Forward 4
  4. Chase Schor Haskin Forward Debut
  5. Joe Schroeder Forward 16
  6. Kevon Williams (C) Halfback/Wing 31
  7. Faitala Talapusi Halfback 3
  8. Maceo Brown Center/Forward 14
  9. Stephen Tomasin Utility 39
  10. Marcus Tupuola Flyhalf/Center 11
  11. Perry Baker Wing/Center 49
  12. David Still Wing/Forward 2
  13. Naima Fuala’au Halfback 12
  14. Aaron Cummings (traveling reserve) Forward Debut

Most Popular

To Top