All Blacks 7s and Black Ferns withdraw from Malaga, Seville 7s

New Zealand team huddle during half-time against England in their Cup semi-final on day three of the Emirates Airline Dubai Rugby Sevens 2019 men's competition on 7 December, 2019. Photo credit: Mike Lee - KLC fotos for World Rugby

New Zealand Men’s and Women’s teams will not feature in the Malaga and Seville 7s scheduled for late January in Spain.

According to a statement by the All Blacks, the two teams have been withdrawn from the competitions due to COVID border restrictions.

“TEAM UPDATE | Unfortunately due to Covid border restrictions both the All Blacks 7s and Black Ferns 7s have had to withdraw from the Malaga and Seville stages of the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series. Hopefully we’ll see you at the next, World Rugby 7s!” reads a statement by All Blacks.

All Blacks Men’s 7s won the 2020 COVID-19 interrupted season but have not been in action since the Tokyo Olympics where they finished second.

They were forced to withdraw from the shortened 2021 World 7s Series due to Covid restrictions as well the opening legs of the 2022 World 7s Series.

Their withdrawal means Argentina, Australia, Canada, England, Fiji, France, Ireland, Japan, Kenya, Samoa, Scotland, South Africa, Spain, USA and Wales are the teams expected to feature.

South Africa, USA and Kenya have already confirmed the squad for the series.

Most Popular

To Top