KCB heap misery on winless Impala

Action between Impala and KCB. Photo Courtesy/Denis Acre-half

Champions KCB Rugby handed Impala Saracens the fifth loss of the season, whipping the side 47-0 in a Kenya Cup match staged at KCB Sport Club on Saturday.

Heading to this encounter, the sides had contrasting fortunes. KCB had won their opening two matches while two had been postponed. Impala Saracens on their part has lost all their opening four matches and were bottom of the log.

KCB who had dominated this fixture in the recent meeting with Impala’s last win being in March 2017 scored two tries in the first half and five in the final half. The Bankers started off well and took a 14-0 lead to the break.

The first try of the match was scored by Veteran Andrew Amonde who was fed off a ruck and went on to touch down a try that Darwin Mukidza converted for a 7-0. Curtis Olago charges doubled the lead later in the half, Amonde who was making his first appearance since their Kenya Cup final win in August 7 2021 scored another try after several pick and drives for a 12-0 lead.

Mukidza added the extras for a 14-0 scoreline at half time. In the final half, fullback Isaac Njoroge joined the scoresheet with the third try after a good gain of ground by Brodie Kagia. Mukidza split the posts for 21-0 lead.

Peter Kilonzo then crossed over for the bonus point try as the scores changed to 26-0. Mike Kimwele send the scores to the 30s with his converted try handing his side 33-0 lead. Oscar Simiyu and Mannaseh Oduor added more tries that sealed their win for KCB.

KCB Rugby: 1. Patrick Ouko, 2. Wilfred Waswa, 3. Curtis Lilako, 4. Manaseh Oduor, 5. Oliver Mang’eni, 6. Andrew Amonde, 7. Brodie Kagia, 8. Felix Ojow, 9. Samuel Asati, 10. Smith Muhoya, 11. Jacob Ojee, 12. Bob Muhati, 13. Peter Kilonzo, 14. Darwin Mukidza, 15.I saac Njoroge

Replacements: 16. James Ochieng, 17.Oscar Simiyu, 18. Dennis Juma, 19. Elvis Olukusi, 20. Davis Chenge, 21. Michael Wanjala, 22. Mike Kimwele, 23. Max Kang’eri

Impala Saracens:1. Kevin Ronoh 2. Discent Ekisa 3. Brian Ochieng 4. Bill Arigi 5. Davies Makori 6. Valentino Cosmas (C) 7. Elkeans Musonye 8. Paul Mutsami 9. Dennis Juma 10. Martin Juma 11. Bildad Ochieng* 12. Mark Ongayo 13. Israel Soi 14. Quinto Ongo (VC) 15. Anderson Odour

Replacements: Evans Omondi 17. Onsongo Nyamweya 18. Edwin Gatungo 19. Paul Oimbo 20. Carlwilliam Odhiambo 21. Johnson Waiganjo 22. Samuel Mbeche 23. Martin Musau

Most Popular

To Top