2022 World 7s Series standings ahead of Malaga 7s

Kenya 7s duo Billy Odhiambo and Alvin Marube embrace in a past World 7s series. Photo Courtesy/ (PHOTO: P YATES / WORLD RUGBY

Ahead of the Malaga 7s scheduled for late January in Spain, Dubai 7s back-to-back Champions South Africa are top of the standings.

South Africa are enjoying a 24-match unbeaten run in the series and have collected 44 points after picking 22 points in each of the first two events of the 2022 Series. Argentina are second with 34 points after back-to-back bronze in Dubai.

Dubai 7s II finalist Australia have 32 points. A final place earned them 19 points while they had 13 points after the first leg. USA sit fourth with 30 points after a final in the first Dubai 7s event and a seventh-place finish in the second tournament.

Invites Great Britain ended their campaign with 25 points closing the top five. With their players set to join their respective countries for the remainder of 2022 schedule.

Olympic Champions Fiji and France are tied on 23 points but separated by point differential. Kenya who registered an improvement in the second tournament will stay eighth on the log. 10 points in the first leg and 12 in the final leg pushed them to 22 points.

Ireland with 21 points, Spain 14, Canada and Japan at 11 close the top 12. England, Wales, Scotland have nine points each following their players participation with Great Britain the first two events.

To take account of the factor and in acknowledgment that not all teams may be able to compete in all events due to the challenges of the global COVID-19 pandemic, a unique Series points scoring system was introduced for the 2022 Series in the interests of fairness.

The system sees the best seven men’s results and four women’s results for each team contribute to their final Series standings. The number of contributing results will increase should a replacement event for Hong Kong be added.

The 16 men’s core teams after the Dubai events will Argentina, Australia, Canada, England, Fiji, France, Ireland, Japan, Kenya, New Zealand, Samoa, Scotland, South Africa, Spain, USA and Wales.

The 11 core women’s teams after the Dubai events are Australia, Brazil, Canada, England, Fiji, France, Ireland, New Zealand, Russia, Spain and USA.

Two men’s and one women’s team will be relegated from the 2022 Series, to ensure a pathway for teams to be promoted from the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Challenger Series.

Most Popular

To Top