South Africa crowned Dubai 7s Champions

South Africa players celebrate the Cup Semi Final win over USA on day two of the HSBC Sydney Sevens 2020 men's competition at Bankwest Stadium on 2 February, 2020 in Sydney, Australia. Photo credit: Mike Lee - KLC fotos for World Rugby

South Africa are the Dubai 7s Champions after beating Australia 10-7 in a closely contested final played at the Sevens Stadium.

The Bliztboks end 2021 on a high having won four back-to-back Cup finals in this calendar year and are unbeaten in 24 matches in 2021. JC Pretorius was named the player of the final.

South Africa won a penalty in the breakdown and a quick tap saw the captain Siviwe Soyizwapi put through for the opening try after just 45 seconds.

Corey Toole tied the scores with a try late in the half and Dietrich Roache converted for a 7-5 lead at halftime.

In the final half, JC Pretorius slipped past Ben Dowling and accelerated to score a try that was unconverted. South Africa would work hard to pick a win.

The teams will be back in action in Spain in January for Malaga and Seville 7s. New Zealand and Samoa are some of the team expected back in January.

SATurday  4 December 2021 Timings in EAT

9th Place Semi-Final

 Fiji 33-19 Canada  

 Spain 26-7 Japan

Cup Quarter Finals

Australia 24-12 Ireland

Argentina 33-12 Great Britain

USA 12-28 France

South Africa 31-19 Kenya 7s

11th Place Play-Off

Canada 12 -21 Japan

9th Place Play-Off

Fiji 31-7 Spain – 12:38 PM

5th Place Semi-Final

Ireland 19-24 Great Britain

USA 0-29 Kenya

Cup Semi-Finals

Australia 40-0 Argentina

France 12-19 South Africa

5th Place Play-Off, Match 32

Great Britain 10-5 Kenya 7s 4:03 PM

7th Place Play-Off

Ireland 16-26 USA

Bronze Final

Argentina 38-21 France

Cup Final, Match 34

Australia 5-10 South Africa

Most Popular

To Top