Kenya Simbas make 10 changes for Diables Barcelona clash

Kenya Simbas train at Loftus Grounds in SA. Photo Courtesy/KRU.

Kenya Simbas Head Coach Paul Odera has named a much-changed side for the final match of the South Africa Tour against Diables Barcelona which will be played on Thursday 6:30 pm EAT and will be broadcast live on SuperSport Channel 211.

Darwin Mukidza has been handed captaincy duties as he shifts from fullback to fly-half, Jone Kubu drops to the bench. Isaac Njoroge gets the first start at fullback as Derrick Ashihundu gets his first start on the blind wing.

Andrew Matoka will play on the open wing. The coach has rested Vincent Onyala and Peter Kilonzo comes to the starting squad to partner with John Okoth.

Dan Sikuta also moves to the bench while Joshua Chisanga is not in the matchday squad. Steve Sakari returns to the starting squad with Fidel Oloo earning his first start of the tour. George Nyambua keeps his place at number six.

In the second row, Thomas Okeyo is untouched with Brian Juma replacing Malcolm Onsando. Ian Njenga, Eugene Sifuna and Ephraim Oduor drop to the bench paving way for Joseph Odero, Bonface Ochieng and Patrick Ouko.

Barry Robinson also gets a chance at number 9. Bethuel Anami and Brian Wahinya have been included among the substitutes.

Kenya Simbas will be eyeing the second straight win to end the South Africa tour on a high. Last weekend Simbas beat Brazil 36-30 in a Stellenbosch Challenge Bronze match played on Saturday at Markotter Grounds.

Jone Kubu landed two tries, three conversions, and a penalty while Andrew Matoka with one conversion and John Okoth, Vincent Onyala, Samuel Asati with a try each helped Kenya pick a win.

They have played five matches in 2021 winning two matches against Zambia and Brazil.

In the South Africa Tour, the Simbas played Currie Cup Champions team losing 85-17, went down 60-24 against Namibia and beat Brazil 36-30.

Kenya Simbas: 1.Joseph Odero, 2. Bonface Ochieng, 3. Patrick Ouko, 4. Brian Juma, 5. Thomas Okeyo, 6. George Nyambua(VC), 7. Fidel Oloo, 8. Stephen Sakari, 9. Barry Robinson, 10. Darwin Mukidza©, 11. Derrick Ashihundu, 12. John Okoth, 13. Peter Kilonzo, 14. Andrew Matoka, 15. Isaac Njoroge.

Reserves: 16. Ian Njenga, 17. Eugene Sifuna, 18. Ephraim Oduor, 19. Bethwel Anami, 20. Elkeans Musonye, 21. Brian Wahinya, 22. Vincent Onyala, 23. Jacob Ojee, 24. Daniel Sikuta, 25. Malcolm Onsando, 26. Jone Kubu.

Watch Gibson Weru’s Interview on how he rose to be a top player :

Most Popular

To Top