England name squad for Springboks encounter

Action between England and South Africa. COurtesy/World Rugby

The experienced Courtney Lawes (flanker) will captain England for a second time when they host the Springboks at Twickenham on Saturday, with Tom Curry (No 8) and Henry Slade (outside centre) named vice-captains for the clash.

Lawes takes over from Owen Farrell, who is not available for this match after picking up an injury in England’s victory over Australia last weekend.

Jamie Blamire will start at hooker, with props Bevan Rodd and Kyle Sinckler joining him in the front row. Locks Maro Itoje and Jonny Hill complete the tight five and Sam Underhill is at openside flanker.

Joe Marchant returns to the side on the right wing, Jonny May is on the left wing and Freddie Steward is at fullback.

As a result of Farrell’s absence, Manu Tuilagi is back at inside centre, Marcus Smith is at flyhalf, and the side’s most capped-player, Ben Youngs, is at scrumhalf.

Hooker Nic Dolly could make his England debut off the bench, where he will be joined by Joe Marler, Will Stuart, Charlie Ewels, Sam Simmonds, Alex Dombrandt, Raffi Quirke and Max Malins.

England head coach Eddie Jones said: “This is our biggest game of the season and the final game of the autumn campaign and we want to finish with a bang.

“We’ve been really pleased with the preparation this week and how the team has continued to develop over the past month.

“Now we want to put on our best performance this autumn in front of a capacity 82,000 crowd at Twickenham.”

England team: 15. Freddie Steward 14. Joe Marchant 13. Henry Slade 12. Manu Tuilagi 11. Jonny May 10. Marcus Smith 9. Ben Youngs 8. Tom Curry 7. Sam Underhill 6. Courtney Lawes (captain) 5. Jonny Hill 4. Maro Itoje 3. Kyle Sinckler 2. Jamie Blamire 1. Bevan Rodd
Replacements: 16. Nic Dolly 17. Joe Marler 18. Will Stuart 19. Charlie Ewels 20. Sam Simmonds 21. Alex Dombrandt 22. Raffi Quirke 23. Max Malins

Courtesy/SA Rugby

Most Popular

To Top