Dubai 7s pools announced

Pools for the opening round of the 2022 World 7s Series -Dubai 7s have been announced ahead of the competition slated for 26-27 November.

Olympic Gold Medalist Fiji are back after missing the 2021 World 7s Series and have been pooled alongside returning Australia, Canada and France.

Pool B has Olympic bronze medallists Argentina, 2021 World 7s Bronze Medalists Kenya 7s, Spain and the USA. The final Pool has 2021 Series Champions South Africa who will take on Ireland, Great Britain and Japan, who were promoted as HSBC World Rugby Challenger Series champions in 2020.

Great Britain will participate in the opening two rounds of the Series in Dubai, as part of the standing agreement to play the calendar year 2021, before reverting to compete as national unions for the remainder of the 2022 Series, with England, Scotland and Wales participating in the men’s Series and England in the women’s series.

Editor’s pick:

To take account of this factor and in acknowledgement that not all teams may be able to compete in all events due to the challenges of the global COVID-19 pandemic, a unique Series points scoring system has been introduced for the 2022 Series in the interests of fairness. The system sees the best seven men’s results and four women’s results for each team contribute to their final Series standings. The number of contributing results will increase should a replacement event for Hong Kong be added.

The 16 men’s core teams after the Dubai events are Argentina, Australia, Canada, England, Fiji, France, Ireland, Japan, Kenya, New Zealand, Samoa, Scotland, South Africa, Spain, USA and Wales.

The 11 core women’s teams after the Dubai events are Australia, Brazil, Canada, England, Fiji, France, Ireland, New Zealand, Russia, Spain and USA.

Two men’s and one women’s teams will be relegated from the 2022 Series, to ensure a pathway for teams to be promoted from the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Challenger Series.

2021 Dubai 7s

Pool A: Fiji, Australia, Canada, France

Pool B: Argentina, Kenya 7s, Spain, USA

Pool C: South Africa, Ireland, Great Britain, Japan

Most Popular

To Top