Kenya Simbas announce squad for Currie Cup XV Champions match

Kenya Simbas Head coach Paul Odea has announced his squad that will face Currie Cup XV Champions team in a Champions match slated for Loftus on Saturday at 2:00 PM.

Kabras RFC winger Derrick Ashihundu will make his Kenya Simbas debut off the bench as well two-time Barthes Cup winner Andrew Matoka and his Strathmore Leos teammate Bethuel Anami who was included in the squad on Tuesday.

Ian Njenga, Eugene Sifuna, and Patrick Ouko start upfront with Malcolm Onsando and Thomas Okeyo being entrusted with the second-row duties.

Joshua Chisanga is joined by Sikuta brothers Dan and Stephen in the back row. Dan is set to lead the side out as the captain.

Samuel Asati gets a start at number nine withJone Kubu set to make his third straight start for the Simbas. John Okoth and Vincent Onyala are in the midfield and the back three has Brian Tanga, Jacob Ojee and Darwin Mukidza.

Fidel Oloo, Melvi Thairu, Barry Robinson, Boniface Ochieng and Andrew Simiyu are part of the bench.

Speaking after the Captain’s run, Odera added that the selection for tomorrow’s match is very interesting because they’ve had to look at different scenarios and who can play multiple positions. “This is probably the hardest match the Simbas have played when it comes to the intensity that we are going to encounter. Our strength is that of course we have an athleticism that can pretty much work for us but we also have to counterbalance that with holding our own set pieces. We have Kubu and Asati as the half back pairing that will start this match and the good thing about having Asati at 9 is that he is an excellent defender because we do expect a lot of pressure from the side that we will be facing tomorrow.

“We have three debutants in the tea, Matoka, Anami and Ashihundu and they are players to truly look out for because they are excellent players in their own right. The mood in the team is very good, I wish I was a young player again because playing in this facility, in a ground like this that has so much history is what players look live for and I think they will do themselves and the country proud,” he concluded.

Kenya Simbas squad: 1.Ian Njenga(Nondies RFC) 2. Eugene Sifuna(Kabras Sugar RFC) 3. Patrick Oyugi(KCB RC) 4. Malcolm Onsando(Kenya Harlequins) 5. Thomas Okeyo(Top Fry Nakuru) 6. Joshua Chisanga(Kenya Harlequins) 7. Dan Sikuta (c) (Kabras Sugar RFC) 8. Stephen Sakari(Mwamba RFC) 9. Samwel Asati(KCB RC) 10. John Kubu(Kabras Sugar RFC) 11. Brian Tanga(Kabras Sugar RFC) 12. John Okoth(Top Fry Nakuru) 13. Vincent Onyala(KCB RC) 14. Jacob Ojee(KCB RC) 15. Darwin Mukidza(KCB RC)

Replacements: 16. Bonface Ochieng(Kenya Harlequins) 17. Andrew Siminyu(University of Jo’burg) 18. Melvin Thairu(Kenya Harlequins) 19. Bethwel Anami*(Strathmore Leos) 20. Fidel Oloo(Nondies RFC) 21. Barry Robinson(Kabras Sugar RFC) 22. Derrick Ashihundu*(Kabras Sugar RFC) 23. Andrew Matoka*(Strathmore Leos).

Most Popular

To Top