How Currie XV Champions Team will line up against Kenya Simbas

Arno Botha. (Photo by Anton Geyser/Gallo Images)

Following several withdraws in the Currie XV Champions Team, changes have been made to the starting squad that will face Kenya Simbas in a Champions match scheduled for Loftus Versfeld in Pretoria on Saturday 2: 00 PM.

Two additions were made to the squad announced last week. Vodacom Bulls prop Mhleli Dlamini and his provincial team-mate Joe van Zyl (hooker) were added to the replacements.

The squad has been under the watchful eye of Jake White, the Vodacom Bulls’ director of rugby, and his coaching staff in Pretoria in the past few days.

Aranos Coetzee, Schalk Erasmus and Simphiwe Matanzima lead the pack joined by locks Reniel Hugo and PJ Steenkamp.

The back row has Arno Botha, Phumzile Maqondwana and Nama Xaba who form the back row.

Keagan Johannes starts at number nine with Brandon Thomson starting at fly-half.

Chris Smit and Howard Mnisi will partner in the midfield with Stravino Jacobs, Werner Kok and Sibongile Novuka forming the back three.

The match will be broadcast live on SuperSport.

The Carling Champions Team 15. Sibongile Novuka (Vodacom Bulls) 14. Werner Kok (Cell C Sharks) 13. Chris Smit (Toyota Cheetahs) 12. Howard Mnisi (Toyota Cheetahs) 11. Stravino Jacobs (Vodacom Bulls) 10. Brandon Thomson (Toyota Cheetahs) 9. Keagan Johannes (Vodacom Bulls) 8. Arno Botha (Vodacom Bulls) 7. Phumzile Maqondwana (New Nation Pumas) 6. Nama Xaba (DHL Western Province) 5. Reniel Hugo (Cell C Sharks) 4. PJ Steenkamp (Sigma Lions) 3. Aranos Coetzee (Toyota Cheetahs) 2. Schalk Erasmus (Vodacom Bulls) 1. Simphiwe Matanzima (Vodacom Bulls)

Replacements: 16 Joe van Zyl (Vodacom Bulls) 17 Gerhard Steenekamp (Vodacom Bulls) 18 Mhleli Dlamini (Vodacom Bulls) 19 Reinhardt Ludwig (Vodacom Bulls) 20 Marcel Theunissen (DHL Western Province) 21 Paul de Wet (DHL Western Province) 22 George Whitehead (Tafel Lager Griquas) 23 Stedman Gans (Vodacom Bulls)

Non-playing reserves:
24 Ntuthuko Mchunu (Cell C Sharks) 25 Chad Solomon (DHL Western Province) 26 Leolin Zas (DHL Western Province) 27 Ginter Smuts (New Nation Pumas) 28 Tian Meyer (Toyota Cheetahs) 29 Ashlon Davids (Tafel Lager Griquas) 30 Marius Louw (Cell C Sharks)

Most Popular

To Top