Uganda announce squad for Safari 7s

Uganda 7s squad has been released ahead of the Safari 7s tournament scheduled for Nyayo Stadium on Saturday 30 and Sunday 31 October 2021.

The squad will be captained by Ian Munyani who will be assisted by former Kenya Harlequins halfback Aaron Ofoyrwoth, currently with Heathens.

Heathens’ Norbert Okeny who has scored 100 points in the ongoing Uganda 7s Series, Hippos Dennis Etwau with 97 points in the series have been included in the squad.

Former Kabras RFC ace Innocent Gwokto, Daystar Falcons’ Levis Ocen are part of the squad. Kelvin Balagadde, Adrian Kasito, Ivan Otema, Karim Arinaitwe, Timothy Kisiga and Bryon Oketayot complete the list.

Michael Wokorach, Pius Ogena and Joseph Aredo are missing.

Editors pick

The tournament is set to usher fans back to the stadium after the Government gave green light to allow them back after close to 19 months of absence.

Safari 7s has already attracted 12 sides in the men category. World 7s Series core side Spain, 2018 winners Samurai, South Africa Allstars Academy, Germany, Red Wailers, Zimbabwe, and Nigeria’s Stallion sevens are all set to feature in the tournament.

Kenya will be represented by Kenya Morans- the defending Champions, Shujaa, Kenya Under 20, and 2019 National 7s Circuit Champions KCB.

Confirmed sides: Men: Spain, Germany, South Africa All Stars 7s Academy, Zimbabwe, Uganda, Samurai, Red Wailers, Stallion Sevens Nigeria, KCB, Kenya U20, Kenya Shujaa and Kenya Morans

Women: Zimbabwe, South Africa Select, Kenya Lionesses I, Kenya Lionesses II

Uganda 7s squad: Kelvin Balagadde, Adrian Kasito, Aaron Ofoyrwoth, Ian Munyani, Innocent Gwokto, Ivan Otema, Karim Arinaitwe, Levis Ocen, Nobert Okeny, Timothy Kisiga, Byron Oketayot, Dennis Etwau

Most Popular

To Top