All Blacks name squad to play USA in 1874 Cup Test match

All Blacks perform haka in a past event.

All Blacks team has been named to play the USA in the 1874 Cup Test match at FedExField in Washington DC on Saturday 23 October.

It will be a special day for new All Blacks lock, 20-year-old Josh Lord, who has been named on the bench and will have huge experience around him for his first Test match, with All Blacks Captain Samuel Whitelock returning at starting lock, alongside Tupou Vaa’i.

In the starting front row, prop Ethan de Groot gets his first Test start after two appearances off the bench this year, hooker Asafo Aumua gets his second Test start of the year and Angus Ta’avao provides experience at tighthead prop.  George Bower and Tyrel Lomax are the prop reserves, with Dane Coles, making his eagerly-awaited return to the All Blacks, on the bench.

The starting loose forwards are the exciting young trio of Luke Jacobson at six, Dalton Papalii at seven and number eight Hoskins Sotutu, with the hugely experienced Sam Cane making his welcome return to the national side via the bench, after missing the international season to undergo chest muscle surgery. He will be playing his 75th Test.

In the backs, it’s a first Test start for halfback Finlay Christie with Richie Mo’unga at 10. The inside pairing sees Quinn Tupaea come in at 12 and Braydon Ennor, in his first Test start, is at centre.  Will Jordan and George Bridge are on the wings and Damian McKenzie is at fullback.  The All Blacks will have huge international experience in the back reserves, with halfback TJ Perenara, first five-eighth Beauden Barrett and Anton Lienert-Brown ready to make an impact from the bench.

This will be the fifth time the All Blacks and USA have played each other, with the last Test in Chicago in 2014, and is the first Test of the All Blacks Tudor Northern Tour.

All Blacks: 1.  Ethan de Groot (2) 2.   Asafo Aumua (4) 3.   Angus Ta’avao (19) 4.   Samuel Whitelock (127) – captain 5.   Tupou Vaa’i (7) 6.   Luke Jacobson (10) 7.   Dalton Papalii (9) 8.   Hoskins Sotutu (8) 9.   Finlay Christie (3) 10. Richie Mo’unga (27) 11. George Bridge (16) 12. Quinn Tupaea (4) 13. Braydon Ennor (2) 14. Will Jordan (9) 15. Damian McKenzie (37)

Replacements: 16. Dane Coles (76) 17. George Bower (8) 18. Tyrel Lomax (10) 19. Josh Lord – new cap 20. Sam Cane (74) 21. TJ Perenara (75) 22. Beauden Barrett (98) 23. Anton Lienert-Brown (53)

Most Popular

To Top