Kenyatta University announce squad for FASU 7s

Lionel Ekesa attempts a conversion in a past action. Photo Courtesy/Denis Acre-half

Kenyatta University have released their squad that will travel to Uganda for the Federation of Africa University Sports (FASU) sevens scheduled for 8-10 October 2021.

The tournament is slated for Makerere University’s Graveyard – IMPIS grounds. Kenyatta Universities squad has regulars Ian Obukwa, Obat Kuke, Dennis Opiyo, Lionel Ekesa, Allan Ominde, Marshall Mutai and speedster Achadeus Khwesa.

Williams Motto coached side has four players James Otieno, Collins Otieno, Derrick Masese and Morris Paul who will be making their debut.

The winner will represent Africa at the FISU World Cup to be held in Kazan, Russia in 2022. Kenyan Universities expected to feature in the tournament include USIU, MMUST, JKUAT, Meru, and Daystar University,

University of Johannesburg are the defending Champions having beaten Martyrs 12-0 in the final at Imps College in 2019. USIU finished fourth in the competition after falling 10-0 to Makerere University in the bronze.

Kenyatta University: 1.Ian Obukwa 2.Obat Kuke 3. Dennis Opiyo 4.James Otieno* 5. Collins Otieno* 6. Marshall Mutai 7.Derrick Masese* 8.Morris Paul* 9.Kelvin Gathu 10.Emmanuel Muriuki 11.Lionel Ekesa 12.Mejja Mulongo 13.Archadeus Khwesa 14.Allan Ominde 15.Sunlight Mulama (Physio

1-Jomo Kenyatta University of Science and Technology
2- United States International University-Africa
3- Masinde Muliro University of Science and Technology
4- Kenyatta University

5- Meru University
6- Daystar University
7- Makerere University
8- Kabale University
9- University of Johannesburg
10- University of Pretoria
11- Stellenbosch University

Most Popular

To Top