South Africa name four uncapped players in Vancouver 7s squad

Springbok Sevens coach Neil Powell has named four uncapped players in his 13-man squad to travel to Canada this weekend for tournaments in Vancouver and Edmonton later this month.

Ronald Brown, Darren Adonis and Shaun Williams will all make a first HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series trip with the Blitzboks, while Christie Grobbelaar is in line to make his first appearance for South Africa, although he has travelled with the team before – to Dubai in 2019 as 13th player.

Brown represented South Africa at the recent Olympic Games in Japan, but will now don the Springbok Sevens jersey for the first time at the tournaments to be played at BC Place in Vancouver on 18-19 September, and a week later, on 25-26 September, in Edmonton’s Commonwealth Stadium.

Adonis, a former Carling Currie Cup winner with Toyota Cheetahs in 2019, has played for the SA Rugby Sevens Academy in the Tusker Safari Sevens tournament in Kenya, while Williams, who represented the Lions at junior level whilst a student at University of Johannesburg, will make a first international appearance since joining the SA Rugby Sevens Academy last year.

Like in Tokyo, all 12 countries competing will be allowed to use all 13 players available in their squads during the tournament.

Regular Springbok Sevens skipper Siviwe Soyizwapi will board the plane at the most experienced player in the squad, having played in 30 tournaments, while Powell included a number of World Series regulars.

One of them, Ryan Oosthuizen, returns to the squad after injury ruled him out of Olympic Games contention, and Dewald Human makes a return to the squad having last played at the HSBC Paris Sevens in 2019.

Sako Makata, Zain Davids, Angelo Davids, JC Pretorius, Soyizwapi and Brown were all part of the Tokyo squad, where South African placed fifth.

Olympians Branco du Preez, Selvyn Davids and Justin Geduld were not considered due to injury, while Chris Dry has announced his retirement from international sevens. Stedman Gans and Kurt-Lee Arendse has re-joined the Vodacom Bulls since returning from Tokyo and Ruhan Nel linked up with the DHL Stormers again.

The Springbok Sevens squad (with caps and points):

  1. Christie Grobbelaar (one tournament, 0 matches, 0 points)
  2. Ryan Oosthuizen (21 tournaments, 107 matches; 23 tries, 115 points)
  3. Sako Makata (nine tournaments, 36 matches; four tries, 20 points)
  4. Zain Davids (22 tournaments, 109 matches; 16 tries, 80 points)
  5. Angelo Davids (six tournaments, 32 matches; 18 tries, 90 points)
  6. JC Pretorius (10 tournaments, 54 matches; 24 tries, 120 points)
  7. Ronald Brown (on debut)
  8. Shaun Williams (on debut)
  9. Darren Adonis (on debut)
  10. Dewald Human (nine tournaments, 43 matches; 12 tries, 27 conversions, 114 points)
  11. Siviwe Soyizwapi (captain; 30 tournaments, 157 matches; 93 tries, 465 points)
  12. Muller du Plessis (14 tournaments, 63 matches; 42 tries, 210 points).
  13. James Murphy (four tournaments, 12 matches; 0 points)

Story Courtesy/SA Rugby

Most Popular

To Top