Vancouver 7s Pools announced

Pools for the first tournament of the 2021 World 7s Series scheduled for Vancouver in Canada on 18-19 September 2021 have been confirmed.

12 teams will feature in the tournament with core and invitational sides set to participate following the absence of New Zealand, Fiji, France and Samoa.

The men’s Series competition sees the 12 teams divided into three pools of four teams each, following the format used at the Olympic Games.

Pool A will have 2020 Series runners-up South Africa face-off with their African counterparts Kenya 7s. The pool also has Spain while Mexico come in on an invitational basis.

Pool B has Great Britain and they will square it out with Ireland and invitational sides Hong Kong and Jamaica.

The final Pool C has USA, Series runners-up in 2019, hosts Canada as well as invitational teams Germany and Chile.

The Men’s tournament will take place alongside a women’s Fast Four tournament at BC Place in Vancouver.

The Vancouver tournament will be followed by a second HSBC Canada Sevens event in Edmonton the following weekend, on 25-26 September. The two rounds in Canada form the 2021 Series, with the Series title awarded in Edmonton.

Given the unique circumstances of the pandemic, there will be no relegation from the 2021 Series and the results will not contribute towards seedings for any other future events.

The complete HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series 2022 schedule will be announced later this month. Rugby sevens players and fans can look forward to a very busy and exciting year in 2022 with the Series followed by the Commonwealth Games in Birmingham, England, on 29-31 July and Rugby World Cup Sevens in Cape Town, South Africa, on 9-11 September.

Vancouver 7s Pools

Pool A: South Africa, Kenya 7s, Spain, Mexico

Pool B: Great Britain, Ireland, Hong Kong, Jamaica

Pool C: USA, Canada, Germany, Chile

Most Popular

To Top