Five debutantes included in Kenya 7s squad for Vancouver

Kenya 7s head coach Innocent Simiyu has included five new faces in his squad that will travel to Canada for the opening rounds of the 2021 World 7s Series opener slated for 18-19 September.

Timothy Mmasi, Mark Kwemoi, Levy Amunga, Alvin Marube and Derrick Keyoga are set for their maiden World 7s Series appearance.

The squad will have Nelson Oyoo as captain while Willy Ambaka, Herman Humwa, Alvin Otieno, Daniel Taabu, Jeff Olouch and Billy Odhiambo have maintained their positions.

Following rugby sevens’ captivating second appearance at the Olympic Games in Tokyo, the sport returns to HSBC World Rugby Seven action this month with a pair of HSBC Canada Sevens men’s events alongside women’s fast four tournaments in Vancouver on 18-19 September and Edmonton on 25-26 September 2021.

The events in Canada will form the 2021 Series, with the Series title awarded in Edmonton, as an update to the planned schedule sees Dubai now host a pair of men’s and women’s combined events as the kick off for the following year’s 2022 Series. The Emirates Dubai 7s will host behind closed doors round on 26-27 November 2021, followed by a second round on 3-4 December 2021 with fans in attendance at the popular event in The Sevens Stadium.

Shujaa squad: Nelson Oyoo (Nakuru,captain), Jeff Oluoch, Alvin Otieno, Timothy Mmasi, Herman Humwa, Harold Anduvati, Willy Ambaka (Narvskaya Zastava Rugby Club, Russia), Daniel Taabu (Mwamba), Mark Kwemoi (Menengai Oilers), Levi Amunga (KCB), Billy Odhiambo(Mwamba), Derrick Keyoga (Menengai Oilers), Alvin Marube (Impala Saracens

2021 World Sevens Series Calendar

  • Vancouver 7s: 18th/19th September
  • Edmonton 7s: 25th/26th September

2022 World 7s Series calendar

  • Dubai 7s 26-27 November 2021
  • Dubai 7s: 3rd/4th December 2021

Most Popular

To Top