Kenya 7s 2021 training squad revealed ahead of World 7s Series campaign

Kenya 7s Head Coach Innocent Simiyu has revealed his 2021 training squad ahead of the 2021 World Series Campaign which will commence with the Vancouver 7s in Canada in mid September.

His squad had 15 players who featured in the 2020 Olympics preparations and nine trialists. Fijian Born Kenyan International Jone Kubu, his Kabras teammates Derrick Ashihundu, Kevin Wekesa, Impala’s Edmund Anya, Strathmore Leos back Andrew Matoka, Nondies fullback Benson Salem are among the new inclusions set to be part of the camp.

Dan Sikuta and Brian Tanga have also been included. The coach has retained the likes Nelson Oyoo, Vincent Onyala, Johnstone Olindi, Jeff Oluoch, Alvin Otieno, Billy Odhiambo and Daniel Taabu who were part of the Olympics.

He confirmed that more trialists will be called in camp before they settle on the final nine players who will be part of the 2021 final 24.

“Our team selection is based on the last squad performance up to Tokyo where we have retained 15 players and called up 9 trialists based on Kenya Cup performance. We will continue calling up more players for trials until we settle on the additional 9 players. The total squad numbers for this season is 24players as its a long season. We also have one foreign based player – Willy Ambaka who will join us based on his availability,” Simiyu told KRU.

As it stands, the technical team’s focus is  on getting a strong team that will win a medal at the 2022 Commonwealth games in Birmingham and the RWC 7s in Cape Town.

The Rugby Sevens schedule at the Commonwealth Games will run from 28th July to 8th August 2022 while the RWC 7s will be held from 9th to 11th September at the Cape Town Stadium.

Shujaa 2021 Training Squad: Harold Anduvate (Menengai Oilers), Vincent Onyala (KCB RC), Alvin Otieno (Homeboyz RFC), Herman Humwa (Kenya Harlequins), Dan Sikuta (Kabras Sugar RFC), Timothy Mmasi (MMUST), Tony Omondi (Mwamba RFC), Johnstone Olindi (KCB RC), Daniel Taabu (Mwamba RFC), Mark Kwemoi (Menengai Oilers), Nelson Oyoo (Top Fry Nakuru), Jeffrey Oluoch (Homeboyz), Billy Odhiambo (Mwamba RFC), Derrick Keyoga (Menengai Oilers), Levy Amunga (KCB RC) Edmund Anya (Impala Saracens), Jone Kubu (Kabras Sugar RFC), Ben Salem (Nondescripts), Brian Tanga (Kabras Sugar RFC), Alvin Marube (Impala Saracens), Kevin Wekesa (Kabras Sugar RFC), Derrick Ashiundu (Kabras Sugar RFC), Andrew Matoka (Strathmore Leos), Bush Mwale (Homeboyz RFC)

Most Popular

To Top