Hat-trick for Ashihundu as Kabras beat Strathmore to qualify for Kenya Cup final

Derrick Ashihundu bagged a hat-trick as Kabras RFC beat Strathmore Leos 39-19 in a Kenya Cup semi-final match staged at Nandi Bears Club.

The win sees Kabras reach the sixth consecutive Kenya Cup final since their promotion and they will be up against KCB Rugby who have beaten Menengai Oilers.

The hosts Kabras were quick off the blocks with scoring two quick tries that gave them a comfortable lead. First, it was South African import Ntabeni Dukisa who crossed over for the opener which he converted for a 7-0 lead.

Kabras doubled the lead when Jone Kubu set up winger Derrick Ashihundu for the second try. Dukisa converted for a 14-0 lead. Minutes later Ashihundu landed the third try which was converted taking the scores to 21-0.

The hosts were forced into an early change with injured Bryceson Adaka being replaced by Walter Okoth. Strathmore Leos pulled back with a seven pointer for a 21-7 trail.

The Sugarmen went to the break leading 28-7, it was after Kubu put fellow country-man Timoci Senaite through for the fourth try which Dukisa converted.

On return from the break, Ashihundu crossed for his third try of the day and , changing the scores to 33-7. The visitors pulled back with two tries and one was converted for a 33-19.

Dukisa drilled in two penalties for a 39-19 win for Kabras.

Kabras RFC: 1.Hilary Mwanjilwa 2. Eugene Sifuna, Asuman Mugerwa 4. Hillary Odhiambo 5. Brian Juma 6. George Nyambua 7. Dan Sikuta 8. Jeanson Musoga, 9 Brian Tanga, 10 Ntabeni Dukisa 11.Derrick Ashihundu 12. Bryceson Adaka 13. Timoci Senaite 14 Felix Ayange 15. Jone Kubu

Replacements:16: Geoffrey Shitambasi 17. Joseph Odero 18. Ephraim Oduor 19. Shem Angugo 20. Kevin Wekesa 21. Barry Robinson 22. Walter Okoth 23. Alfred Orege

Teddy Akala William Opaka Dan Angwech

Strathmore Leos: 1. Gabriel Adero. (C) 2. Barnabas Owuor. 3. Tony Amoyah. 4. Austin Mboya. 5. Alton Chasia. 6. Philemon Olang. 7. Bethuel Anami Muteshi. 8. Maxwell Omondi. 9. Arnold Muita. 10. Dan Kisakyamukama. 11. Richard Liva. 12. Wiseman Aganya. 13. Festus Safari. 14. Brunson Madigu. 15. Matoka Matoka.

Replacements: 16. Arnold Omollo. 17. Raymond Chacha. 18. George Ooro. 19. Stanislaus Shikoli. 20. Shem Okola. 21. Patrick Kluivert. 22. Gideon Makumi. 23. Elton Amalemba.

  1. Roldie Tende. TM
  2. Nahashon Owino. Physio
  3. Louis Kisia. Head Coach

Most Popular

To Top