MMUST upset Impala Saracens

MMUST Rugby claimed the second win of the season defeating Impala Saracens 21-12 in a Kenya Cup clash staged at Impala Club.

The Makakas who were promoted at the start of the season have now amassed eight points from six matches. Lamech Ambetsa scored a brace in the win.

MMUST found themselves trailing after Impala landed a converted try through fly-half Anthony Odhiambo. Quinto Ongo added the extras for a 7-0 scoreline with just six minutes of play.

The Kakamega based then put up a strong fight to respond with a try. Samuel Mbeche gained ground from his own 22 after a kick and patient build followed before Keith Imbwanga picked charging blind winger Clause Shirievo who stormed into the 22 to score for MMUST. Nobert Lumbwani’s conversion tied the scores at 7-7 after 26 minutes.

The Kakamega based side headed to the break leading 14-7 with Jadha Abdon quickly offloading to fly-half Nobert Lumbwani who put winger Lamech Ambetsa through for the second try.

MMUST took a 21-7 lead to the break with Ambetsa returning to the scoresheet with his second try that was converted by Lumbwani to give them a 14-point cushion.

In the final, half Impala scored an unconverted try through centre Bill Omondi but MMUST held on a nine-point lead to win the match.

Impala Saracens: 1.Franz Obudo 2. Joshua Matasi 3. Brian Ochieng 4. Davis Makori 5. Rainer Omondi 6. Clinton Musonye 7. Jeremy Griffins 8. Cosmas Valentino – V.Captain 9. Sam Kimakwa 10. Anthony Odhiambo 11. Gilbert Odhiambo 12. Hannington Mmbaka 13. Bill Omondi 14. Alvin Marube 15. Quinto Ong’o – Captain
Replacements: 16. Kenneth Murangiri 17. Nesta Okotch 18. Tariq Ngige 19. Bill Arigi 20. Evans Omondi 21. Dennis Maina 22. Israel Soi 23. Edmund Anya

MMUST Rugby: 1.Kevin Toti 2. Gibson Perez 3. Collins Ngoko 4. Calvin Wabuyele 5. William Muhanji 6. Geoff Messo 7. Jadah Abdon 8. Felix Wamocho 9 . Keith Imbwanga 10. Norbert Lumbwani 11. Clause Shirievo 12. Habil Malik 13. Samuel Mbeche 14. Lameck Ambetsa 15. Isaiah Mulongo

Replacements: Mike Onyango 17. Karanja 18. Cornel Byron 19. Nelson Makhoha 20. Javan Olando 21. Felix Bukhutse 22. John Bahati 23. Elvis Amunya 24. Erick Cantona 25. Paul Odongo

Most Popular

To Top