Kabras hit Nakuru to pick fifth Kenya Cup win

Kabras fine run in Kenya Cup continued as they hit Nakuru 40-15 in a Kenya Cup encounter staged at Nakuru ASK Showground on Saturday afternoon.

The Sugarmen have now hit 25 points and have moved top of the log ahead of the clash pitting KCB and Menengai Oilers which will determine if the Bankers will return to the top.

Kabras and Nakuru came to this with contrasting runs, Kabras were on a four-match winning streak in Kenya Cup while Nakuru had suffered three straight losses. The Sugarmen were quick off the blocks and landed four tries in the first and two in the closing half to win the match.

Brian Tanga who was back from the International assignments with Kenya Simbas bagged a brace in the win. To score the opening try, the halfback slipped past Nakuru’s defence to touch down the first try. Ntabeni Dukisa slotted in the extras for a 7-0 lead. The Sugarmen extended the lead through George Nyambua’s try and Dukisa converted it for a 14-0.

The South African fly-half then touched down the third try after benefiting from Jone Kubu’s beautiful run. He however failed to register the extras with the scores changing to 19-0. The try came after Samuel Mwaura’s missed a penalty attempt that would have given Nakuru three points.

Kubu went on to register his own try by gliding past Nakuru’s defence to score at the centre and Dukisa easily slotted in the extras from the tee. The teams headed to the break with Kabras leading 24-0 and having already bagged a bonus point.

A three-pointer and the second try by Tanga which was converted by Kubu saw the scores change to 33-0 in the opening minutes of the final half. Nakuru began to respond after their former player Walter Okoth was yellow carded and had to sit out for 10 minutes.

Amos Obae making his first appearance since February 2020 landed Wanyore’s opening try. Chrispine Onyango added the conversion before slotting in a penalty that saw his side hit 10 points in the match.

Brian Juma went over for Kabras’ sixth try that was converted by Kubu for the 40-point mark. The hosts continued to fight back with Felix Okoth scoring immediately from kick-off after he caught Kabras defence napping. The scoreline remained unchanged and Kabras would head home with five points.

Nakuru RFC: 1.Newton Okeyo 2.Emmanuel Mboya 3.Ezekiel Waitere 4.Thomas Okeyo 5.Phillip Kwame 6.Amos Obae 7.Felix Okoth 8.Edwins Makori 9.Donald Oluoch 10.Crispin Onyango 11.Cassius Omollo 12.Brian Kimani 13. John Okoth 14. Hannington Wabwire 15. Samuel Mwaura

Replacements: 16. Julius Agesa 17. John Mbugua 18. Felix Oleche 19. Gideon Mbithi 20. Edwin Anunda 21. Fredrick Odongo 22. Billy Kipchirchir 23. Tyson Asiago

Kabras RFC 1.Joseph Odero 2.Eugene Sifuna 3.Hillary Mwanjilwa 4.Hillary Odhiambo 5.Brian Juma 6.George Nyambua 7.Kevin Wekesa 8.Jeanson Misoga 9.Brian Tanga 10.Ntabeni Dukisa 11.Alfred Orege 12.Walter Okoth 13.Bryceson Agesa 14.Jone Kube 15.Felix Ayange

Replacements: 16.Shitambasi Geoffrey 17.Victor Were 18.Lee Akanga 19.Collins Indeche 20.John Baraka 21.Dan Angwech 22.William Opaka 23.Johnstone Mungau

24. Dan Sikuta 25. Bede Enonda

Photo Courtesy/Oil Images

Most Popular

To Top