Impala hold off Nakuru to pick second Kenya Cup win

Impala Saracens registered another Kenya Cup win, beating Nakuru RFC 25-19 in a match played at Impala Club on Saturday.

The came to the clash hoping to register second with of the season while Nakuru were targeting a return to winning ways following a loss to Mwamba in June.

The first half only had 15 points being scored with both sides landing a try each. Both side landed two tries each in the closing half.

Impala were the first ones on the scoresheet with captain Quinto Ongo kicking in three points after a penalty. Impala would then land the opening try but their conversion attempt went wide. Nakuru then responded with a converted try to narrow the gap.

To score the try, scrum-half Donald Aluoch beat Impala defenders with a dummy and went on to score a try that Samuel Mwaura converted. The teams went to the break with a point separating them.

On return from the break, Nakuru took the lead for the first time with hooker Emmanuel Mboya gliding past Impala’s defence to score a solo effort try. Mwaura’s conversion was on point and Wanyore were 14-8 up.

Ongo, on the other hand, cut the gap to three points with his penalty changing the scoreboard to 14-11. The hosts Impala then retook the lead with open winger Alvin Marube latching on his own kick to score their second try. Ongo’s conversion saw them open a four-point gap.

Tony Khadambi stretched the lead beating his markers to score at the centre and a conversion attempt hit the target for a 25-14 scoreline. At the other end, Nakuru managed to pull back with a try at the final minute of the game to walk away with a point.

Impala Saracens 1. Nesta Okotch  2. Kenneth Murangiri  3. Kelvin Ronnoh  4. Frank Aduda  5. Rainer Omondi 6. Evans Omondi 7. Clinton Musonye 8. Cosmas Valentino – V. Captain 9. Sam Kimakwa 10. Martin Juma 11. Tony Khadambi 12. Gilbert Odhiambo 13. Israel Soi 14. Alvin Marube 15. Quinto Ongo – Captain

Replacements: 16. Joshua Matasi 17. Franz Obudo 18. Brian Ochieng  19. Davis Makori 20. Jeremy Griffins 21. Dennis Maina 22. Hannington Mmbaka 23. Mark Ongayo

Nakuru 1. Mike Mare 2. Emmanuel Mboya 3. Newton Okeyo 4. Gideon Mbithi 5. Beavon Mboya 6. Edwin Anunda 7. Felix Okoth 8. Edwins Makori 9. Donald Aluoch 10. Crispin Onyango 11. Felix Okita 12. Brian Kimani 13. Billy Kipchirchir 14. Cassius Omollo 15. Samuel Mwaura

Replacements: 16. Julius Agesa 17. Felix Oleche 18. Jamleck Karani 19. Phillip Kwame 20. Ignatius Gichure 21. Fredrick Odongo 22. Tyson Asiago 23. Leon Nyang

Photo Courtesy/Dennis ACre-half

Most Popular

To Top