All Blacks vs Fiji matchday squads

All Blacks team has been named to play Fiji in the second match of the Steinlager Series at Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin, on Saturday 10 July.

It will be a special night for halfback Aaron Smith, who will captain the All Blacks for the first time in his 98th Test, and prop Ethan de Groot, who has been named on the bench.

The All Blacks selectors have made full use of their squad in naming the team to play Fiji in the first of two Tests.

In the starting front row, George Bower moves from his bench Test debut last week to make his first Test start at loosehead prop, alongside hooker Codie Taylor and tighthead Nepo Laulala, who will be playing his 30th Test. Tyrel Lomax again provides prop cover, alongside de Groot, on the bench.

81-Test lock Brodie Retallick makes his eagerly-awaited return to the All Blacks matchday 23, starting alongside Patrick Tuipulotu, with Samuel Whitelock moving to the bench.

In the loose forwards, Ethan Blackadder moves from the bench to make his first Test start in the seven jersey, Shannon Frizell is at blindside flanker and Hoskins Sotutu is at eight. Luke Jacobson provides loose forward cover in the 20 jersey.

In the backs, Beauden Barrett will don the 10 jersey and is playing his 90th Test, while David Havili is back in black, picked at 12. It will be his first Test start in his fourth Test match. Rieko Ioane is at the centre for his third start at 13. George Bridge retains his spot on the left wing, Sevu Reece is on the right and Jordie Barrett is at fullback in his 25thTest. Providing back cover from the bench are Finlay Christie, Damian McKenzie and Will Jordan.

All Blacks: 1.George Bower (1) 2. Codie Taylor (56) 3. Nepo Laulala (29) 4. Patrick Tuipulotu (37) 5. Brodie Retallick (81) 6. Shannon Frizell (13) 7. Ethan Blackadder (1) 8. Hoskins Sotutu (5) 9. Aaron Smith (97) – captain 10. Beauden Barrett (89) 11. George Bridge (11) 12. David Havili (3) 13. Rieko Ioane (35) 14. Sevu Reece (8) 15. Jordie Barrett (24)

Replacements: 16: Dane Coles (75) 17. Ethan de Groot – new cap 18. Tyrel Lomax (7) 19. Samuel Whitelock (123) 20. Luke Jacobson (3) 21. Finlay Christie (1) 22. Damian McKenzie (28) 23. Will Jordan (3)

Fiji Rugby: 1. Peni Ravai 2. Samuel Matavesi 3. Mesake Doge 4. Temo Mayanavanua 5. Leone Nakarawa 6. Johnny Dyer 7. Mesulame Kunavula 8. Albert Tuisue 9. Simione Kuruvoli 10. Ben Volavola 11. Nemani Nadolo 12. Levani Botia {c} 13. Waisea Nayacalevu 14. Eroni Sau 15. Kini Murimurivalu

Reserves: 16. Peni Narisia * 17. Haereiti Hetet 18. Leeroy Atalifo 19. Tevita Ratuva 20. Peceli Yato 21. Setareki Tuicuvu 22. Eneriko Buliruarua * 23. Manasa Mataele *

Most Popular

To Top