Menengai Oilers defeat MMUST at NAC

Menengai Oilers unbeaten run continued as they defeated visiting MMUST Rugby 24-10 in an early kick-off Kenya Cup match at Nakuru Athletics Club.

Gibson Weru coached side headed to this having picked two wins and a draw while MMUST were keen to build on their first top-flight win which came before the league was stopped. Despite the victory, the hosts missed a bonus point as they scored only three tries.

Oilers crossed over for the first try which was from Mark Kwemoi who started in the midfield. Abutwalib Wesonga added the extras for a 7-0 lead.

MMUST replied at the 15th minute with eighth man Felix Wamocho touching down but their conversion was unsuccessful. Oilers would return to the scoresheet eight minutes later with Wesonga’s penalty taking the scores to 10-5.

Their opponents MMUST then leveled the scores following a try by scrum-half Kevin Abuga at the 38th minute and the teams headed to break tied at 10-10.

The second half saw Oilers add 14 points while their defence ensured they were not breached for more points by their visitors.

Samuel Were landed Oilers second try which Wesonga converted for a 17-10 lead after 12 minutes of play in the second half. Oilers final try came at the 69th minute as Wesonga crossed over for his own try and added the extras for a win.

Oilers are now on 15 points after five matches played and will stay third on the log.

Kenya Cup Results

Oilers 24-10 MMUST

Strathmore 20-20 Kenya Harlequins

Nondies 8-39 KCB

Nakuru 15-25 Mwamba

Menengai Oilers squad: 1. Francis Atiti 2. Kelvin Mokoyani 3. Rashid shimoka 4. Ibrahim Ayoo 5. Brian Ndirangu 6. Clinton Odhiambo 7. Chrispine Shitundo- c 8. Samuel Were 9. Andrew Odero 10. Abutwalib Wesonga 11. Beldad Ogeta 12. Mark Kwemoi 13. Austin Sikutwa 14. Derrick Mbaire 15. Davis Nyaundi

Replacements:16. Emmanuel Mulindo 17. Edward Mwaura 18. Ian Omoke 19. Edwin Abungana 20. Nickson Ochieng 21. Geoffrey Ominde 22. Abukuse Dennis 23. Roy Nandwa*

MMUST Rugby 1. Kevin Toti 2. Gibson Perez 3. Collins Ngoko 4.Calvin Wabuyele 5. William Muhanji 6. Nelson Makhoha 7. Jadah Abdon 8. Wamocho Felix 9 .Abuga Kevin 10. Norbert Lumbwani 11. Clause Shirievo 12. Malik Habil 13. Timothy Mmasi 14. Lameck Ambetsa 15.  Isaiah Mulongo

Replacements: 16. Mike Onyango 17. Karanja 18. Cornel Byron 19. Mwata Benson 20. Orlando Javan 21. Keith 22. Samuel Mbeche 23. Elvi Amunya   24. Erick Cantona

25. Paul odongo 26.  Allan Muoki

Most Popular

To Top