2022 World Cup Sevens dates and qualification process confirmed

World Rugby and hosts, SA Rugby, confirmed on Tuesday that Rugby World Cup Sevens 2022 in Cape Town will take place from 9-11 September.

The eighth edition – which will be contested by 24 men’s and 16 women’s teams – is the first to be hosted in Africa with organisers anticipating a very special and record-breaking event at the iconic 57,654 capacity Cape Town Stadium.

The top eight men’s teams and top four women’s teams from the hugely successful RWC Sevens 2018 in San Francisco, USA, have already secured automatic qualification for the tournament in 2022. The qualified teams for the Men’s World Cup include New Zealand, England, South Africa, Fiji, Argentina, the USA, France, and Scotland.

Kenya 7s and Kenya Lionesses will fight for the World Cup ticket through the regional tournament Rugby Africa Men’s 7s and Women’s 7s qualifiers respectively.

The African continent will have three slots in the Men 7s category. The winner of the regional 7s, first runners-up and second runners-up will join South Africa in the World Cup.

Europe will have four slots with the top four teams in the Europe Men’s 7s Tournament joining England and France who have already qualified. Oceania will have three top teams in the regional qualifier joining Fiji and New Zealand who are already through.

Asia, North America and South Africa will have two teams qualifying to complete 24 team list.

Amongst the women’s teams, the Springbok Women’s Sevens side will join defending champions New Zealand, France, Australia and USA in Cape Town. The remaining 11 slots will be filled by top four teams from Europe, two from Asia, two from South America and one each from Africa, North America and Oceania.

The HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series will no longer form part of the qualification pathway for Rugby World Cup Sevens. Regional qualification is expected to start in August of this year with further details to be announced at a later stage.

Most Popular

To Top