Unbeaten Kobs win 2021 Uganda Premiership Title

Kobs are the 2021 Uganda Premiership Champions following a narrow 15-5 win over Pirates in the final match of the season staged at a soggy Legends Club on Saturday.

The side reclaims which was won by Heathens in the 2019/20 season which was ended after the COVID-19 pandemic disrupted the campaign. This becomes their 13th Premiership title and they have gone unbeaten, winning all their nine matches picking 42 points out the possible 45 points.

Alhaji Manano opened the scores with a try for Kobs and James Ijongat added the extras to stretch the lead to 7-0. Pirates had a chance to trim the gap to a point but William Nkore and Conrad Wanyama were unable to hit the target from the tee after two successive penalties.

Pirates efforts finally paid off with Haruna Mohammed scoring a try off the scrum. Ivan Magomu’s conversion attempt which could have tied the scores went off the target. Ijongat then widened the gap for the Kobs by slotting in a penalty that stretched the lead to 10-5.

In the final half, Kobs added a five pointer which put the game beyond Pirates.

Outgoing Champions Heathens finished second after seeing off Rhinos 45-10 in the early kick off clash staged at Kyadondo. Backrowers Lawrence Ssebuliba and Ronald Kanyanya bagged two tries each while Paul Epillo, Joseph Bulago and Innocent Gwokto had a try each.

Hippos picked a winning bonus point against Mongers beating them 25-11. Tawfik Bagalana, Aziz Bagalana, David Wako and Denis Etwau were the scorers. Impis beat Rams via two penalties as Buffaloes won 17-5 Warriors.

Uganda Premiership Round nine results

Buffaloes 17-5 Warriors

Rams 0-6 Impis

Hiippos 25-11 Mongers

Heathens 45-10

Kobs 15-5 Pirates

Most Popular

To Top