British and Irish Lions squad named ahead of SA Tour

Warren Gatland has announced a 37-man British and Irish Lions squad for the South African Tour slated for July 2021.

Wales’ Alun Wyn Jones, 35, has been confirmed as Lions captain ahead of Tests against South Africa which are slated for 24 & 31 July and 7 August.

The six Nations Champions Wales have 10 players; Jones, Liam Williams, Josh Adams, Louis Rees-Zammit, Dan Biggar, Gareth Davies, Wyn Jones, Ken Owens, Taulupe Faletau and Justin Tipuric.

England lead with 11 players while Scotland and Ireland both have eight players each.

Ireland captain Johnny Sexton who played a key role in the 2017 tour, has been left out. Wales centre Jonathan Davies, England prop Kyle Sinckler and Ireland second row James Ryan are other players left out.

Forwards: Tadhg Beirne, Jack Conan, Luke Cowan Dickie, Tom Curry, Zander Fagerson, Taulupe Faletau, Tadhg Furlong, Jamie George, Iain Henderson, Jonny Hill, Maro Itoje, Alun Wyn Jones, Wyn Jones, Courtney Lawes, Ken Owens, Andrew Porter, Sam Simmonds, Rory Sutherland, Justin Tipuric, Mako Vunipola, Hamish Watson.

Backs: Josh Adams, Bundee Aki, Dan Biggar, Elliot Daly, Gareth Davies, Owen Farrell, Chris Harris, Robbie Henshaw, Stuart Hogg, Conor Murray, Ali Price, Louis Rees-Zammit, Finn Russell, Duhan van der Merwe, Anthony Watson, Liam Williams.

Most Popular

To Top