18 players nominated for MyPlayers awards

 18 players have been nominated by MyPlayers for accolades in their annual Players Choice Awards for 2020.

Four players Lukhanyo Am, Steven Kitshoff, Frans Steyn and Duane Vermeulen who helped the Boks lift the Rugby World Cup in 2019 and followed that up with sterling performances for their teams in last year’s Vodacom Super Rugby Unlocked and Carling Currie Cup competitions have earned a place in the 18-man list.

Cornal Hendricks, a dual-code Springbok, and Stedman Gans are the two Blitzboks who made their mark in the colours of the Vodacom Bulls, while Curwin Bosch, Arno Botha and Marco van Staden are the other Springboks on the list of nominations.

Vermeulen and Steyn are up against Hendricks and Bosch for the top honour, the Players’ Player of the Year Award, while a bunch of exciting new prospects also made the list of nominees after a season where South Africa’s top players were forced to face a new opponent in the guise of COVID-19.

MyPlayers, the official organisation of the professional rugby players in South Africa, is 100% owned by the players and they play a key leadership role in determining the general strategy and vision.

The organisation currently represents all the professional rugby players in South Africa, providing player-driven solutions to improve the lives of its members. This varies from support with managing their rights, finding suitable medical cover, all the way to assisting with their career development.

The nominees are:

Defender of the Year
Jeandré Rudolph (Toyota Cheetahs)
Andisa Ntsila (Toyota Cheetahs)
Steven Kitshoff (DHL Stormers / Western Province)
Lukhanyo Am (Cell C Sharks)

Best off the bench
Morné van den Berg (Emirates / Xerox Lions)
Thembelani Bholi (Cell C Sharks)
Arno Botha (Vodacom Bulls)
Sintu Manjezi (Vodacom Bulls)

Forward Player of the Year
Duane Vermeulen (Vodacom Bulls)
Steven Kitshoff (DHL Stormers / Western Province)
Jeandré Rudolph (Toyota Cheetahs)
Marco van Staden (Vodacom Bulls)

Backline Player of the Year
Cornal Hendricks (Vodacom Bulls)
Frans Steyn (Toyota Cheetahs)
Curwin Bosch (Cell C Sharks)
Wandisile Simelane (Emirates / Xerox Lions)

Most Improved Player Award
Stedman Gans (Vodacom Bulls)
Tiaan Swanepoel (Emirates / Xerox Lions)
Dylan Richardson (Cell C Sharks)
Vincent Tshituka (Emirates / Xerox Lions)

Players’ Player of the Year
Duane Vermeulen (Vodacom Bulls)
Frans Steyn (Toyota Cheetahs)
Cornal Hendricks (Vodacom Bulls)
Curwin Bosch (Cell C Sharks)

Most Popular

To Top