2021 Rugby World Cup pools announced

Pools for the 2021 Women Rugby 15s World Cup slated for New Zealand have been released ahead of the tournament set for 18 September-16 October 2021.

The ninth edition of the tournament will be hosted in the southern hemisphere for the first time in history. Defending Champions and hosts New Zealand are in Pool A alongside Australia, Wales.

The final slot in the pool will be taken by the team that will win the final qualifying round, a first for a women’s Rugby World Cup, offering a second opportunity for teams to qualify.

Kenya Lionesses are still in the race for a maiden World Cup ticket having fallen to South Africa and booked a date against Columbia ( Sudamérica Rugby winners ) in a Repechage clash which was slated for 18 April 2020 but was postponed due to COVID-19.

After the clash, the winner (Kenya vs Columbia) will join a repechage tournament which will have four teams: the second-placed teams from the regional tournaments of Asia and Europe, the winner of the play-off between the loser of the Oceania World Cup qualifying play-off and the winner of another play-off between the bottom-ranked teams in the same tournament.

Pool B of the World Cup will have Canada, USA Europe and Asia winners while the final Pool has Six Nations Champions England, France, African Champions South Africa and first-time qualifiers Fiji.

Pool A:  New Zealand, Australia, Wales, Final Qualification Winner

Pool B: Canada, USA, Europe 1, Asia 1

Pool C: England, France, South Africa, Fiji


Most Popular

To Top