Mwamba RFC's Mike Okello in a past clash. Photo Courtesy/Denis Acre-half.

Mwamba boost playoff chances, Nakuru fall to Quins


Mwamba RFC chances of playing in the Kenya Cup playoff for the second time in a row received a major boost as they beat Impala 15-11 at Railways Club.

Mike Okello set up centre Michael Agevi but the latter knocked on as he approached Impala’s area. Mwamba amended for their earlier miss by scoring a penalty via Brian Mwangi for a 3-0 lead. Impala responded with an unconverted try after Alvin Marube crossed over at the other end.

The teams headed to break with a slim gap of two points separating them and it was Impala who were ahead. From the break, Impala extended their lead through Xavier Bett’s penalty.  With 20 minutes to go, Martin Oyugi beat Impala backline and touched down to tie the scores.

Minutes later Bett’s long-range penalty put Impala ahead but it was Mwamba who had the last laugh. Back-rower Edwin Machanje powered past Impala defence and the try was converted to earn his side victory and four points that have propelled them to position five. This marks Impala’s third straight loss of the season.

At RFUEA Grounds, Kenya Harlequins arrested their bad run with a 30-12 win over Play-off chasing Nakuru. Quins took a 23-5 lead to the break and stood tall to pick maximum points.

Kenya Cup results

KCB 43-13 Menengai Oilers 


Kabras 52-6 Nondies 

Kenya Harlequins 33-12 Nakuru

Western Bulls 6-56 Homeboyz 

Mwamba 15-11 Impala

Kisumu 5-38 Blakblad

Mwamba 1.Eugene Sudi 2. Salaton Muturi 3. Jonah Mbari 4. Andrew Chogo 5. George Omolla 6. Tony Owuor 7. Stephen Sikuta (VC) 8. Edwin Machanje 9. Eugene Nzioka  10. Brian Mwangi 11. Alex Aturo 12. Patrick Ruhiu 13. Michael Agevi 14. Michael Okello 15. Ronnie Omondi  

Replacements: 16. Thomas Soteri 17. James Yuko 18. Deus Mudaki 19. Paul Wahome 20. Christopher Asira 21. Martin Oyugi 22. Joel Inzuga 23. Sabala Tendwa

Impala Saracens:  1. Soita Wekesa 2. Givens Onyango 3. Brian Ochieng 4. Michael Gitau 5. Eric Kerre 6. Elkeans Musonye 7. Cosmas Valentino 8. Dancun Ekasi 9. Xavier Kipn’getich 10. Anthony Odhiambo 11. Bill Omondi  12. Ishmael Mokaya 13. Israel Soi 14. Alvin Marube 15. Quinto Ongo  

Replacements: 16. Kenneth Murangiri 17. Nesta Okotch 18. Ian Masheti 19. Davis Makori 20. Carl William Odhiambo 21. Dennis Juma 22. Stephen Keter 23. Samuel Motari


Like it? Share with your friends!

Choose A Format
Personality quiz
Series of questions that intends to reveal something about the personality
Trivia quiz
Series of questions with right and wrong answers that intends to check knowledge
Voting to make decisions or determine opinions
Formatted Text with Embeds and Visuals
The Classic Internet Listicles
The Classic Internet Countdowns
Open List
Submit your own item and vote up for the best submission
Ranked List
Upvote or downvote to decide the best list item
Upload your own images to make custom memes
Youtube, Vimeo or Vine Embeds
Soundcloud or Mixcloud Embeds
Photo or GIF
GIF format
%d bloggers like this: