Kabras storm into Enterprise Cup quarters after beating Oilers

Enterprise Cup holders Kabras stormed into the quarters of the competition after a comfortable 48-19 win over Menengai Oilers in a round of 16 clash played at the Bull Ring on Saturday.

The Sugarmen managed 10 points in the opening 11 minutes. Their first points of the game were registered at the sixth minute and it was Ntabeni Dukisa who drilled in a penalty. Scrum-half Brian Tanga then would gain ground after beating his markers before releasing Lawrence Buyachi who touched down the first try.

Alfred Orege touched down the second try after being set up by Timoci Senaite and the try was converted for a 17-0 lead. Orege would return to the scoresheet after Brian Juma’s pass to extend the lead.

Tanga scored his own try before Oilers pulled back via a penalty try for their first points of the game. Jone Kubu was yellow carded after a high tackle in the build-up to the try..

Tanga and Dukisa would link up again with the latter dotting the fifth try which gave them a comfortable 34-7 lead at halftime. From the break, Kubu fed Juma and the lock crossed over for the sixth try of the day which saw them hit the 40’s after Dukisa’s conversion.

Oilers got their second try of the game through Timothy Okwemba but Mark Kwemoi failed to add the extras. Kubu would score his first try to take the scored to 48-12. A maul at the other end saw Oilers score the third try through skipper Javan Ateh and Geoffrey Ominde converted to end the game with 19 points for Oilers.

Kabras will face Mwamba in the next round.

Round of 16 results

Kabras Sugar 48-19 Menengai Oilers 
Kenya Harlequins vs Homeboyz 
Impala vs Mean Machine
KCB vs Strathmore 
Nakuru 28-0  Mombasa
 Mwamba 28-0 Kisumu 
Blak Blad 28-0 Western Bulls 
Nondies 28-0 MMUST

Kabras squad 1 Ephriam Odour 2 Eugene Sifuna 3 Joseph Odero 4 Brian Juma 5 Hillary Odhiambo 6 William Diffu 7 Charlton Mokua 8 Lawrence Buyachi 9 Brian Tanga 10 Ntabeni Dukisa 11 Alfred Orege 12 Walter Okoth 13 Timoci Senaite 14 Paul Abuto 15 Jone Kubu

Replacements: 16 Royal Mwale 17 Asuman Mugerwa 18 Bramwell Mayaka 19 George Nyambua 20 Dan Sikuta 21 Barry Robinson  22 Felix Ayange  23 Malika Habil

Oilers  1. Francis Atiti 2. Hillary Malweyi 3. Vincent Mwikali  4. Emmanuel Odera 5. Brian Ndirangu  6. Nickson Ochieng 7. Javan Ateh -c 8. Rodgers Audi 9. Andrew Odero 10. Geoffrey Ominde 11. Beldad ogeta 12. Mark Kwemoi 13. Austin Sikutwa 14. Timothy Okwemba  15. Davis Nyaundi

Replacements: 16. Kelvin Mokoyani  17. Edward Mwaura 18. Ian Omoke 19. Edwin Abungana 20. Steve Ochieng  21. Emman okwako 22. Derrick Ludenyo  23. Derrick Mbaire.

Most Popular

To Top