Homeboyz reach Enterprise Cup Quarter after sweet revenge over Quins

2018 Enterprise Cup winners Homeboyz knocked Kenya Harlequins out of the competition after a 39-13 win in a round of 16 clash played at RFUEA Grounds. 

This win saw them revenge their early elimination faced last season at the hand of Quins. Homeboyz went to the break leading 20-7 this clash which Kenya Harlequins scored first. Elisha Koronya landed the first try in between the sticks while Mike Ochieng added the extras for 7-0 for Quins. Homeboyz centre Bob Muhati pulled back for the side before Michael Wanjala Matayo drilled in the extras.

Ochieng missed a chance to hand Quins another lead after sending his conversion attempt wide. Wanjala scored a penalty for Homeboyz at the end for 10-7 lead. Muhati would then grab his second try and Wanjala belted in a conversion from a tight angle on the right for a 17-7 lead.

Wanjala ensured a 13-point lead after getting three more points from the tee.  In the closing half, Mugaisi produced a clean pair of heels from his own 22 to score the third try.  Ochieng’s penalty for Quins trimmed the gap by three points but Joshua Chisanga grabbed two late tries before Ervin Asena conversion send Homeboyz to 39-1o. Quins added a penalty later in the game but Homeboyz had amassed enough points to earn revenge.

Homeboyz will tackle Nondies in the quarters.

Kenya Harlequins vs Homeboyz 
Impala vs Mean Machine
Nakuru 28-0  Mombasa
 Mwamba 28-0 Kisumu 
Blak Blad 28-0 Western Bulls 
Nondies 28-0 MMUST

Kenya Harlequins: 1 – Elisha Koronya 2 – Brian Waraba 3 – Ayub Kimutai 4 – Lloyd Kopondo 5 – Mike Onsando 6 – Roxy Suchi  7 – Edward Shitanda 8 – Patrice Agunda 9 – Lyle Asiligwa 10-Eden Agero 11 – Jacob Okumba 12 – David Ambunya  13 –Douglas Kahuri – VC 14 – Hassan Yassin  15 – Dominic Osino

Replacements: 16 – Boniface Ochieng 17 – Mike Mugo 18 – Melvin Thairu 19 – David Ahawo 20 – Mark Omoding 21 – Nick Ndegwa 22 – Michael Ochieng 23 – Michael Habashi

Homeboyz: 1.Elfas Etemesi 2.Bruce Shiemi 3.Abel Matanda 4.Wallace Onyango 5.Emong Eliphas 6.Stanley Isogol 7.Emmanuel Mavala 8.Joshua Chisanga 9.Augustine Lugonzo 10.Evin Asena 11.Zeden Marrow 12.Jan Remke  13.Bob Muhati 14.Collins Shikoli 15.Leonard Mugaisi

Replacements: 16.Aaron Khalechi 17.Joseph Amalemba 18.Mesch Akenga 19.Polycarp Odhiambo 20.Reinhard Ngaira 21.Mohammed Omollo 22.Michael Wanjala 23.Brian Ayimba

Most Popular

To Top