Kakamega High feted as School Team of the Year at SOYA

Kakamega High have been awarded as the school team of the year at the SOYA Awards held in Mombasa.

The team beat UpperHill and Kamusinga to scoop the award. The side commonly known as the Barbarians were unbeaten in 2019 and scooped all the trophies at their disposal.  They beat spirited Dagoretti High 18-11 at Shimo La Tewa High School to be crowned the National 15s Champions for the eighth time history.

The victory saw them reclaim the title they had last won in 2017. They carried the form to the Prescott going unbeaten to win the Western Region Prescott Cup after an 8-7 win over Koyonzo in the finals staged at Kakamega Showground.

Read also

At the East African Games, Amos Wamanga coached side pummeled their opponents (62-0 Ntare School, 43-6 Mary’s Kisubi,46-0 Kangaru, 32-5 Dagoretti and 56-15 Okeeswa) to end the campaign with a 100% win record.

Their 2019 squad produced the best player of the tournament Collins Indeche who has gone ahead to earn a place in Kenya Under 20 Provisional squad for the 2020 season. Their head coach Wamanga missed out on the coach of the year award despite making the top three

East African 7s Champions Upperhill came second while Kamusinga hockey were third.

Most Popular

To Top