2020 Safari 7s dates & venue revealed

The Safari 7s Tournament is scheduled for 23-25 October 2020 at RFUEA Grounds, Kenya Rugby Union has announced.

It will be the third time in a row that the tournament will be taking place at the venue. The tournament returned to RFUEA in 2018 after seven years and it was won by Samurai.

Last year Kenya Morans beat South Africa 19-14 to become the first Kenyan side to win the tournament since Kenya Shujaa’s 38-21 win over Samurai in 2016.

“The dates are set! 23.24.25 October 2020 RFUEA Ground, Nairobi,” Reads a stated by the tournament’s official portal.

This will be  24th edition of the tournament. The annual tournament held in Nairobi which features teams from all across the world both professional and amateur, the tournament began in 1996 and since then more teams have been participating and the tournament has grown tremendously.

The tournament is aimed at preparing teams for the HSBC world sevens series and also give new players a platform, it has seen players like Benjamin Ayimba, Collins Injera, Felix Ochieng,Ken Aswani, Humphrey Khayange and many more make successful careers.

Here is the list of teams that have won the tournament since 1996:

1996- Public Schools Wanderers (U.K)

1997- Kenya

1998-Bristol University (England)

1999- Public Schools Wanderers (U.K)

2000 -Shujaa

2001- British Army (U.K)

2002- British Army (U.K)

2003 – Kenya

2004 -Kenya

2005- Samoa

2006- Emerging Springboks (South Africa)

2007- Emerging Springboks (South Africa)

2008- Kenya

2009- Kenya

2010- Kenya

2011- Samoa

2012- South Africa Elite Player Development

2013- Shujaa

2014 -Welsh Warriors (Wales)

2015- Samurai

2016- Shujaa


2018 -Samurai

2019 Kenya Morans


Most Popular

To Top