Tanga, Kubu lift Kabras past Quins

Kabras bagged the second straight win in 2020 beating Kenya Harlequins 34-3 in a Kenya Cup match staged at the Bull Ring in Kakamega.

Quins visited Kakamega seeking to rekindle the 11 March 2017  memories which saw them win 19-13 against Kabras. Since then they had suffered three straight losses to the Sugarmen. Both sides had won the last two matches in Kenya Cup and were eyeing the third straight win.

Brian Tanga and Jone Kubu managed a brace each as Kabras picked five points to stay top of the log. The hosts’ opened the scores with after Tanga evaded his markers to score the opening try. Ntabeni Dukisa added the two’s for a 7-0 lead. Quins responded minutes later with Lyle Asiligwa drilling in a penalty to cut the gap to four points.

With Quins defence proving to be tight, Kabras opted to pile points and Jone Kubu’s drop goal and a penalty kick by Dukisa ensured the side opened a 10 point gap. Kabras would head to break leading 20-3, it was after Lawrence Buyachi rose from the scrum with an eighth man pick and gained ground before feeding  Kubu who scored the second try. Dukisa added two more points from the tee.

Quins defence stood tall in the opening minutes of the second half and it was Tanga again who took matters in his own hands, stepping past Quin’s midfielders to score. Dukisa conversion saw Kabras move to 27-3.

Kubu would also returned to the scoresheet with his second try which was the most crucial try for the side as it that ensured they stayed top of the log. The try was converted by Dukisa for a 34-3.

Kabras 34-3 Harlequins
Nondies 11 -37 Homeboyz
Kisumu 7 – 55 KCB

Kabras squad: 1.Ephraim Oduor 2.Eugene Sifuna 3.Asuman Mugerwa 4.Brian Juma 5.Hillary Odhiambo 6. Charlton Mokua 7.George Nyambua  8.Lawrence Buyachi 9.Brian Tanga 10.Ntabeni Dukisa  11.Alfred Orege 12.Habil Malika  13.Felix Ayange  14.Paul Abuto 15.Jone Kubu

Replacements 16. Geoffrey Shitambasi 17. Joseph Odero 18. Royal Mwale 19. Steve  Olouch  20.  William Diffu 21. Barry Robinson  22. Avisai Kuruyawa 23. Kevin Keegan

Quins: 1. Brian Obwaya 2. Brian Waraba 3. Ayub Kimutai 4. Mike Onsando 5.Elisha Koronya  – VC 6. Patrice Agunda 7.Roxy Suchi 8. Mark Omonding 9. Dominic Osino 10. Lyle Asiligwa 11. Dennis Otieno  12.Michael Habashi  13. David Ambunya – C 14. Douglas Kahuri 15. Mike Ochieng

Replacements:16. Thomas Ondeng 17. Mike Mugo 18. Melvin Thairu 19. Tony Mutai 20. Kevin Angote 21. Nick Ndegwa 22. Eden Agero 23. Jacob Okumba

Most Popular

To Top