Sikutwa stars as Oilers blow away Mwamba RFC

Menengai Oilers has beat Mwamba 30-14 to return back to winning ways in a high octane encounter at Moi Showgrounds, Nakuru. 

The hosts were first on the score board with outside centre Austin Sikutwa going over for an early 5-0 lead. An attempt to add the extras was unsuccessful as the conversion went wide. Subsequent pressure by Oilers earned them a kick able penalty but the home side could not take the score to 8 points clear.

Mwamba found their way over the whitewash through Ronnie Omondi who scored under the posts. Scrumhalf Eugene Nzioka successfully split the uprights to take the visitors to a 7-5 lead just before halftime.

Austin Sikutwa

Menengai Oilers came back a resurgent side in the second 40. Just ten minutes into the half, they had scored 15 unanswered points for a 20-7 lead. Oilers scored the first try of the second half with Austin Sikutwa successfully converting it. Sikutwa later landed his brace after a nice footwork by debutant Geoffrey Ominde would see him suck in defenders before offloading. A couple of slick ball handling by Oilers backline found Sikutwa in space who dashed for Oilers third try. The conversion went wide.

Former Kenya U20 outside back Derrick Keyoga would rub salt in Mwamba’s wound slicing through the visitors porous defense before embarking on a 70m remarkable sprint to land Oilers fourth try of the game. Sikutwa did no mistake with the extras splitting the posts beautifully.

Elvis Namusasi’s individual brilliance saw him pull one back for Kulabu after spotting a gap in Oilers defense. Kenyan International Daniel Taabu added the two extra points on offer but it was too little too late for the men from the Kenya’s Capital to stage a comeback.


OILERS: 1. Edward Mwaura  2. Kelvin Mokoyani  3. Vincent Mwikali  4. Javan Ateh 5. Chrispine shitindo-c 6. Nickson Ochieng  7. Samuel Were 8. Rodgers Audi  9. Andrew Odero 10. Moses Arara- vc  11. Nickson Mogire 12. Emman Okwako 13. Austin Sikutwa 14. Timothy Okwemba  15. Derrick Keyoga

Replacements: 16. Hughes Anjera 17. Francis Atiti 18. Emmanuel Mulla 19. Brian Ndirangu  20. Dalmus Chituyi* 21. Geoffery Ominde * 22. Mark Kwemoi* 23. Davis Nyaundi

Mwamba Squad: 1. Eugene Sudi 2. Brian Kahura. 3. Jonah Mbari 4. George Omolla  5. Christopher Asira 6. Mike Okello 7. Stephen Sikuta -C 8. Tony Owuor 9. Eugene Nzioka 10. Elvis Namusasi.  11. Joel Inzuga 12. Patrick Ruhiz.-C 13. Michael Agevi 14. Sabala Tendwa 15. Ronnie Omondi

Replacements: 16. Salaton Mutuiri.  17. Deus Mudaki 18. James Yuko 19. Paul Wahome 20. Edwin Machange 21. Charles Chege 22. Felix Otieno 23. Daniel Taabu

Most Popular

To Top