2019: A year of triple victory for KCB

Almost perfect! That is how KCB’s performance in the local scene in the 2019 calendar year can be described.

KCB ended the year with another Kenya Cup title, retained the Floodlit Trophy and reclaimed the National 7s Circuit title.  In  2019, they played 28 matches and won 26. The Curtis Olago coached SIDE had a 92.86% win record in 2019. They managed 50+ points in five matches in the year (50-3 against Machine, 50–5 against Nondies, 53-8 at Strathmore,  53-15 vs Blad, 50-13 vs Nakuru). Its only one match against Kabras that the side failed to score a try.

KCB after Winning Dala 7s. Photo Courtesy/Scrummage.

Only Kabras managed a win over the Ruaraka based side in the Kenya Cup in 365 days. Impala, on the other hand, denied KCB the chance to reclaim the Enterprise title after a narrow 11-10 win in the semis at Impala Club.

The Champions started the year on a high whipping Mean Machine 50-3 and went on a 12-match winning run to reclaim the Kenya Cup title. After finishing second in the regular season with 72 points, the bankers had two targets; to win semis which they achieved and to go to Kakamega and beat fast-rising Kabras in their backyard.

Kabras had not lost at home since February 3, 2018, when Homeboyz beat them 30-12.  KCB had not played at the Forest since December  3, 2016, but stood tall in front of the large crowd that turned out to watch the first-ever Kenya Cup final in Kakamega on 18th May 2019. A 23-15 victory saw the Bankers win the third straight Kenya Cup title. The win extended their tally to seven Kenya Cup titles in their history.

Ahead of the 2019/20 season, KCB boosted the squad by re-signing Johnstone Olindi from Homeboyz. Olindi was joined by Patrick Ouko, Shadon Munoko and Levy Amunga at the Den.

Read Also: 

Olindi, Munoko and Amunga would play a major role as KCB went on to win the National 7s Circuit title for the first time since 2014. Their success would start in Kakamega where they went on an unbeaten run to become the maiden winners of the Kakamega 7s.

After faltering in Meru during the Kabeberi 7s, KCB  won Dala 7s, finished fifth at Prinsloo and won Christie and Driftwood to be crowned the 7s Champions.

This saw them become the first side to win both the 7s and 15s title in one calendar year since 2012.

The other sides to have achieved the feat are Impala  (2000, 2001, 2004) and Quins in 2012.  Their performance saw five of their players  (Olindi, Jacob Ojee, Andrew Amonde, Vincent Onyala and Geoffrey Okwatch) earn a place in the Kenya 7s squad for the 2020 season.

KCB warmed up for the new season by claiming the Floodies after a 23-14 win over Oilers.

They joined hosts Impala (winners in 1999-2001) and Mean Machine (winners 1993-1995) on the list of teams who had won the tournament three years in a row.

They end this year placed second on the log and with the lone loss in the Kenya Cup coming against Kabras at KCB Sports Club. With just a point separating them and log leaders Kabras, KCB will be hoping to overtake the Sugarmen as they continue with the chase for the fourth straight title.

Kenya Cup matches 


Nondies 12-38 KCB

KCB 15-5  Impala

Mwamba 15-29 KCB

KCB 3 – 19 Kabras

KCB 27-24 Homeboyz

Oilers 13-43 KCB

KCB 50-13 Nakuru

Kenya Harlequins 20-32 KCB

KCB 48-11 Western Bulls


Kabras 15-23 KCB  -Final

KCB 46-13 Kenya Harlequins  Semis

Homeboyz 3–10 KCB

KCB 24-10 Kenya Harlequins

Mwamba 20 –27 KCB

KCB 50 –5 Nondies

Menengai Oilers 20 –29 KCB

KCB 44 –20 Kabras

KCB 25 –3 Impala

Strathmore 8-53 KCB

KCB 49 –6 Nakuru

Blakblad 15 –20 KCB

KCB 50 –3 Mean Machine

Impala Floodlit

KCB 23-14 Oilers-Final

KCB 38-14 Homeboyz – Semis

KCB 53-15 Blad

Enterprise Cup 

Impala 11-10 KCB

KCB 36 –16 Nakuru

KCB 24 – 00 Kisii W/O

Most Popular

To Top