Six Kabras players among 60 selected for Kenya U-20 final trials

Kenya under 20 Technical Bench has released a list of 60 players who have been selected from different region of the country for the final trial session set for RFUEA Grounds on 5 January 2020.

The players will be joined by those from 2019 Chipu squad who are still eligible to feature in 2020 and the final 40 will be selected from the group for the Barthes Cup preparations.

Kenya Simbas head coach Paul Odera, forwards coach Mike Aung and backs coach Kenny Andola together with other selector conducted trials across the country and come up with the final list of the 60.

Kabras RFC have six of their players selected, they include 2019 Most Valuable Player at East African games Collins Indeche who crossed over to the side after completing his form four exams at Kakamega High. He is joined by his fellow schoolmate and clubmate Victor Gichana on the list

Kevin Wekesa who has already joined Kabras first team makes the list together with Pettersan Nygel, Enonda Bede and Agesa Adaka  Bryceson. KCB has one player on the list -Juma Reagan Jonathan same to Mwamba RFC who have Ian Kinyua. Homeboyz, Impala, Nondies have also contributed to the list.

Championship sides Strathmore Leos and Northern Suburbs have also dominated the list.  The players will also be hoping to impress again at the final trial session.

Chipu will participate in the Barthes Cup in 2020 at a date and venue to be confirmed by Rugby Africa. The tournament has traditionally been held in either March or April. If Chipu successfully defends their title, they will be Africa’s representatives at the Junior World Rugby Trophy to be held in Spain from September 14th -27th 2020

Selected players for the trials

Loose Head Prop            

Kiarie  Charles Muiruri- Alliance High School, Wainana  Willy Nganga- Mwamba RFC, Mureithi   Ian Kinyua –South Coast Pirates


Ooga Maxwell Atera-  N.Suburbs RFC , Kuira Sean Douglas Alliance High School, Omondi  Thedius Marvin – Daystar Falcons RFC, Ronny Willy Nganga- Kisumu RFC

Tighthead Prop

Ngige Tariq- Impala Saracens, Ambale Rodney- Strathmore Leos, Kabiru Alvin Ndonga- Alliance High School


Wekesa Kevin –Kabras RFC, Mburu Hillary –Nondies RFC, Wandera George Makudiuh – Homeboyz RFC, Ndirangu William – Unattached, Ambillah Leo Henricke – Impala Saracens, Olasya Shawn David- Dagoretti Bulldogs, Owino Argwings -Kisumu RFC, Okeyo Thomas- Kabianga Secondary School


Nganga Nickson Mwania –MKU Thika, Wendo Brian Vandals RFC, Juma Reagan Jonathan –KCB RFC, Moranga Kevin –Mwamba RFC, Odhiambo Daniel – Shamas, Kangethe Julius –Muranga RFC, Wamalwa Ian- Kisumu RFC, Gichana Victor – Kabras Sugar RFC, Indeche Collins –Kabras Sugar RFC

Scrum halves

Mwangi James –Impala Saracens, Kagoche Brian Karimi   -Embu RFC, Mwanzia Samuel Strathmore Leos, Kyeti Alex- N.Suburbs RFC, Sibwoga  Hope –Ahero RFC, Tosha Ali Rashid South Coast Pirates, Mikanga Walter –Kisumu RFC, Makove Joseph Kivuva –Ngong Warriors, Kamadi  Warren Sawagongo High School, Kyalo  William South Coast Pirates


Onyango Fidens Tony –N.Suburbs RFC Pettersan Nygel –Kabras Sugar RFC, Wamalwa Amon Homeboyz RFC

Inside Centres

Oloo Shem Okola N.Suburbs RFC,  Otieno Felix Kisumu RFC, Myatt Taylor Thomas Alistair Milton Abbey

Outside centres

Likosi George Juma N.Suburbs RFC, Omwoyo Keith –Nyamira, Terrick Ivine –N.Suburbs RFC, Agesa Adaka  Bryceson Kabras Sugar RFC,  Kolian Elvin –Nakuru High School

Back three

Mwaura Samuel- Nakuru RFC, Enonda Bede –Kabras Sugar RFC, Onzere  Arnold- Homeboyz RFC, Nyamweya Adama Bagaka –Mean Machine, Mwangi Anthony Njenga –Stormers RFC, Otieno Elvis –TUK

Omanyo Walter –Strathmore Leos, Lewis Mark –Dagoretti High School, Kenga Raymond –Mombasa RFC, Wachiuri Isaiah Dedan Kimathi University, Ojiambo Eugene -Kisumu RFC

Most Popular

To Top