No quarters at Hamilton 7s, different format adopted

Unlike the traditional legs of the World 7s Series, Hamilton 7s set for New Zealand on 25 – 26 January 2020 will not have Cup quarters.

According to the format on World 7s Series official portal, winners of each pool will proceed directly to the semifinals. The winner in Pool A will tackle pool D winners while Pool C and B winners will meet in the first semi-final. This format has been common in the Junior 15s games.

The winners of the semis will head to the finals as the losers meet in the Bronze finals. New Zealand Head Coach Clark Laidlaw believes with the new format, each pool match will be important to the participating teams.

Read Also:

“With this new format, every game counts so every team has to hit the ground running on day one. The players can’t wait to get out on the field at FMG Stadium Waikato and play in front of a big home crowd,” he told New Zealand 7s official portal.

Courtesy/World Rugby

The changes see the fifth-place playoff and seventh-place playoffs which have not been there in the opening rounds introduced.

The fifth-place playoffs will have the best second and second-best second at the pool stage meet to determine who finishes fifth.

Third Best second will meet and the fourth-best second in the seventh-place playoffs while the best third and second-best third will meet in the ninth-place playoffs.

Courtesy/World Rugby

Kenya 7s are in Pool B where they meet with South Africa, England and  Japan.

Read the pools here

Most Popular

To Top