New Zealand edge South Africa to win Cape Town 7s

New Zealand are the Cape Town 7s winners after a narrow 7-5 in the Final staged at Cape Town Stadium on Sunday.

The last time  South Africa won the Cape Town 7s was in 2015 and were seeking to end the bad run at home. New Zealand on the other had last won on South African soil in 2017.

This was a repeat of last weekend’s finals which was won by South Africa 15-0. Just like last weekend, a tight first half was witnessed and this time round it ended scoreless.

South Africa who had several kick attempts in the first half saw their second-half kick bounce on their side and Justin Geduld was able to get on the scoresheet with a try for a 5-0 lead after a missed conversion.

A scuffle ensued after close two minutes of play in the final half and New Zealand earned a penalty, gained ground before Ngarohi McGarvey-Black glided past South Africa’s defence to score at the centre at the 12th minute.

Akuila Rokolisoa added a conversion for a 7-5 lead which they held on to win.


South Africa 5-7 New Zealand

Third place 

France 29-24 Fiji

9th place 

USA 17-12 England

11th place 

Australia 5-22 Canada

13th place 

Samoa 38-7 Spain

15th place 

Wales 15-19 Japan


South Africa 21-14 France

Fiji 7-24 New Zealand


Kenya 5-17 South Africa

France 19-10 Argentina

Ireland 12-31 Fiji

New Zealand 35-19 Scotland

Most Popular

To Top