Homeboyz players receiving the Kabeberi 7s trophy at Machakos Stadium. Photo Courtesy/Allout Sports.

The past National 7s Circuit winners


The 2019 National 7s Circuit will commence on Saturday 20 July with Kakamega 7s being the opening leg of this year’s edition.

The teams will then make a stop in Meru County for Kabeberi 7s slated for  27-28th July. Dala 7s, Prinsloo will take place in August while Christies and Driftwood 7s will be the final legs of the 2018 edition.

Scrummage takes a look at the past winners and according to the Roll of honour by the Kenya Rugby Union, the first National 7s Circuit was played in 1999. Kenya Cup sides Mwamba and Impala Saracens have the most number of titles (four titles each).

The first edition was won by Impala – who went on to win three straight titles. They were dethroned by defunct Ulinzi in 2002. Ulinzi Stars were able to retain the title 2003 before Impala reclaimed it in 2004. Impala neighbours Kenya Harlequins would then bag a double from 2005-2006.

In 2007, Mwamba bagged the first ever National 7s title and retained it in 2008. The 2009 edition was won by Strathmore Leos and Mwamba would return with a double in 2010 and 2011. In 2010 Mwamba RFC with Humphrey Kayange, Collins Injera, Lavin Asego and Horace Owiti onboard bagged 134 points to be crowned champions.

Kenya Harlequins third title came in 2012 where they collected 117 points. They beat KCB with just three points. KCB’s breakthrough came as season later, and victory at Prinsloo, Driftwood,  Christie 7s was enough to earn them 96 points and the overall title. Quins came second with 82 points.

KCB then retained the title in 2014 but a season later they relinquished the title which was won by Nakuru who bagged 91 points in the entire season.

Homeboyz maiden title came in 2016 when they attained 123 points to win the title while Kabras bagged the 2017 title with 102 points. Homeboyz are the defending champions having won the 2018 edition with 122 points.

1999 Impala
2000 Impala
2001 Impala
2002 Ulinzi
2003 Ulinzi
2004 Impala
2005 Quins
2006 Quins
2007 Mwamba
2008 Mwamba
2009 Strathmore
2010 Mwamba
2011 Mwamba
2012 Quins
2013 KCB
2014 KCB
2015 Nakuru
2016 Homeboyz
2017 Kabras

2018 Homeboyz


Choose A Format
Personality quiz
Series of questions that intends to reveal something about the personality
Trivia quiz
Series of questions with right and wrong answers that intends to check knowledge
Voting to make decisions or determine opinions
Formatted Text with Embeds and Visuals
The Classic Internet Listicles
The Classic Internet Countdowns
Open List
Submit your own item and vote up for the best submission
Ranked List
Upvote or downvote to decide the best list item
Upload your own images to make custom memes
Youtube, Vimeo or Vine Embeds
Soundcloud or Mixcloud Embeds
Photo or GIF
GIF format