World 7s Series Champs Fiji crowned Paris 7s winners

World 7s Series Champions Fiji have bagged  Paris 7s title after a 35-24 win over New Zealand in the finals staged at Jean Boiun Stadium.

Quick exchanges in opening minute saw Napolioni Bolaca score and convert Fiji’s first try. Scintillating youngster Meli Derenalagi then pounced on a lose ball and raced on to earn Fiji a 14-0 lead after a converted try.

Fiji stretched the lead to 21 points with Aminiasi Tuimaba going over for the third try. New Zealand pulled back through Jona Nareki’s converted try but Bolaca restored the 21-point lead after scoring their fourth try just before half-time.

In the closing half, Fiji added seven more points to the scoreboard following a try by Jerry Tuwai. A sin bin to Derenalagi gave New Zealand a lifeline in the clash as they scored through Regan Ware and Dylan Collier to trim the gap to 14 points. Ware’s late try was not enough to stop Fiji.

This marks Fiji’s fourth Main Cup title win this season.


2018 Paris 7s winners South Africa finished third in the competition after a 24-7 win over USA in the third place playoffs.

Perry Baker opened the scores with a converted try while Muller Du Plessis got an unconverted try for SA. SA then lae for the first time in the clash after a converted by Ryan Oosthuizen which came after Baker’s sin-bin.

In the second half, Philip Snyman dived over to send the scores to 17-7.  Du Plessis sealed  their victory after crossing over for his second try taking the scores to 24-7.


France wowed home fans with a superb display which saw them whip Samoa 40-5 to finish fifth in the their home tournament.

Canada walked away with the Challenge Trophy following a 28-12 win over Ireland in the trophy finals. Scotland finished 13th after scoring in sudden death to beat Japan 31-26 in the 13th place playoffs.

Most Popular

To Top