Universities set to converge at the Coast for KUSA 7s second leg

Kenya Universities Sports Association 7s Circuit will enter the second week on 1 and 2 June with Pwani University set to host the matches.

According to the organizers, the tournament is expected to attract more Universities, unlike the first leg which saw only seven side’s take part. Dedan Kimanthi, University of Eldoret, Kenya Methodist, Zetech, Meru, University of Nairobi and Kenyatta University were the teams that graced to the Meru 7s.

K.U walked away with the Main cup title after beating UoE 12-7 in the finals staged at Meru University. The Thika road based will be keen to replicate the 2018 performance in this year’s event. At Coastal region in 2018 beating Blak Blad beat MMUST 10-7 to win the main Cup.

Last year the leg was held at the Technical University of Mombasa. After the Mombasa leg, the teams will head to Western Kenya with Masinde Muliro University set to hosts teams for the third leg in Kakamega Town. MMUST takes over the hosting rights from Kaimosi.

Moi University will host the Rift Valley region leg on 29-30 of June. The University of Nairobi will host the final leg of the 2019 KUSA 7s edition on July 6-7,  where the overall champions will be crowned. Kenyatta University won the 2018 edition while USIU won the 2017 edition of the competition.

The aim of the competition is to take rugby 7s to the grassroots level.

KUSA 2019

Meru University 18-19 May

Pwani University 1-2 June

MMUST 15-16 June

Moi University  29-30 June

UON 6-7 July

Most Popular

To Top