Kabras whip Impala to bag maiden Enterprise Cup

Kabras bagged the first ever Enterprise Cup title after a 37-7 victory over Impala Saracens in a rainy evening at RFUEA on Saturday 12 May.

Heading to this clash, Kabras had failed to win the Enterprise Cup in the last four season. The closest they came to winning it was in 2017 and 2018 but had to leave the competition as runners up following defeats KCB in both finals.

For Impala they were in last season’s final but lost it 21-3 to Homeboyz in a match staged at RFUEA. As they walked on the pitch they were hoping to end collect a silverware after missing on the Kenya Cup title.

The Kakamega based side scored in opening minutes after Claude Johannes offloaded to Paul Abuto who raced on to score the first try. Uganda dangerman Philip Wokorach added the extras for a 7-0.  The Saracens launched a hunt for an equalizer but could not break Kabras defence.


Kabras were reduced to 14 men after Hillary Mwanjilwa was yellow carded for an infringement. The Saracens were unable to use the advantage.  Impala missed the resulting penalty while they later came close several time but  Wokorach made two try-saving tackles to ensure they did not concede.

Wokorach had silent in the clash in terms of attack and did not need a second invitation after Barry Robinson fed him with the ball. The Talisman sold two dummies and dived over for Kabras second try. Jone Kubu converted from a tight angle for a 14-0 lead.

Penalty try.

Henly Du Plessis charges were awarded a penalty try and they would head out for the break with a 21-0  lead.  In the second half, Kubu added a penalty taking the scorers to 24-0.

Impala started to build up slowly for a try but Brian Juma stole the ball and made a 75 metre sprint to scorer lead 31–0.  Impala’s breakthrough came at the 60 minutes with a converted try.  Late knock-ons hampered Impala’s forward play.

Wokorach drop-goal and a late penalty took the scores to 37-7.  Kabras would march on to bag the first Enterprise Cup.

Impala Squad: 1. Steve Juma, 2. Edgar Obino, 3. Saul Kivumbi, 4. Davis Makori (VC), 5. Shem Joseph, 6. Tyson Okoth, 7. Elkeans Musonye, 8. Paul Mutsami, 9. Samson Onsomu (C), 10. Nato Simiyu, 11. Steve Keter, 12. Ishmael Mokaya, 13. Bill Omondi, 14. Quinto Ongo, 15. Anthony Odhiambo

Replacements: 16. Daniel Ndome, 17. Soita Wekesa, 18. Edwin Gatungo, 19. Eric Kopondo, 20. Xavier Bett, 21. Hannington Mmbaka, 22. David Moenga, 23. Kelvin Ronnoh

Kabras squad: 1. Hillary Mwanjilwa, 2.Max Adaka, 3. Joseph Odero, 4. Brian Juma, 5. Hillary Odhiambo 6.Charlton Mokua, 7.Kevin Kaboole, 8. Claude Johannes 9. Barry Robinson 10.Philip Wokorach 11. Kevin Keegan, 12. Nick Baraza, 13. Mario Wilson 14. Paul Abuto 15. Jone Kubu

Replacements: 16.Eugene Sifuna 17.  Asuman Mugerwa, 18. Ephraim Oduor 19. Steve Olouch 20. George Nyambua 21. Dan Angwech 22.John Mung’au 23. Andrew Gathua

Most Popular

To Top