Kabras II crowned as Mwamba Cup 2019 winners

Kabras II have been crowned the Mwamba Cup Champions after a 40-27 win over 2018 winners Strathmore Leos in the finals played at RFUEA Grounds
The two sides went to the break seperated by a gap of eight points. It was after Kabras scored 25 points while Strathmore got 17 points.
Strathmore started the clash by putting Kabras on a backfoot in the opening minutes of the clash. The Sugarmen’s first hold of the ball saw the produce a beautiful display and Felix Makokha compeleted the move by diving over for the first try of the game.
Former Kenya Harlequins man Kelly Akengo added five points by converting Makokha’s try and adding penalty.
Martin Muita, on the other, hand pulled by splitting the posts from a penalty attempt. Kabras stretched the lead with a an converted try but their shaky defence allowed Leos to trim the gap with a try.
Walter Omanyo capitalized on a poor kick by Kabras and raced on for a converted try minutes after Akengo’s penalty and left scores at 20-17 minutes before the break.
The Sugarmen would stretch the lead to 25-17 after Dan Angwech dived over after the side used a moving scrum to access the trybox.
From the break, Leos added 11 points to lead 27-25. The exchange continue as Kabras bagged 10 points to lead 35-27.
A try from a maul off a line out saw the Kakamega based side seal the victory.
Strathmore: 1.Andrew Okott, 2.Brighton Mbaya, 3.Ambale Rodney, 4.Molade Akilano, 5.Jude Baraka, 6.Junior Nzomo, 7.Bethuel Anami, 8.Philemon Odero, 9.Lenny Kipto, 10.Arnold Muita, 11.Cecil Otieno(c), 12.Ian Bulali, 13.Richard Omedo, 14.Mathew Mogaya, 15.Walter Omanyo
Replacements:16.Maxwell Kipruto, 17.Dedan Maurice, 18.Brian Ashira, 19.Kareli Kci, 20.Leshan Yiale, 21.Stephano Traquilio, 22.Owen Otieno, 23.Gilbert Otieno

Kabras II squad: 1.Jesse Ngesa, 2.Geoffrey Shitambasi, 3. Bramwel Mayaka, 4. Eliphaz Emong 5.Ben Onyango 6. Felix Makokha, 7. Steve Owuor, 8. Jean Musoga, 9.Dan Angwech, 10 Washingtone Ombima, 11. Bede Enoda, 12 Perminus Macharia, 13.George Makachia, 14. Habil Malika, 15. Kelly Akengo

Replacements: 16. Ishmael Karanja, 17.Steven Ochieng 18. Kevin Wekesa, 19, Saidi Oseieko, Teddy Omondi, 21 Jacob Okumba, 22. Martin Masika, Jervis Nyakundi

Most Popular

To Top