KCB reach ESS Final, Homeboyz shock Kabras

Defending champions KCB II and Homeboyz II will face off in the Eric Shirley Shield finals after winning their respective semifinal clashes in Ruaraka and Kakamega.

The bankers booked a place in the finals after a 32-19 win over Impala. KCB were able to bag two quick tries in the opening five minutes.  The opening try came at the third minute while their second try was grounded by Jeff Okwatch who pounced on a loose ball after handling an error by Impala, he paced on to score while Stephen Osumba added a conversion for a 14-0.

Impala managed to make several strides upfront but they were kept backfoot in the better part of the clash. Elphas Adunga would set up Okwatch for another try at the left side of the pitch but this time around, Osumba couldn’t add the extras.

In the closing half, Brian Opar sent his penalty attempt wide but the side would finally get on the scoresheet via a try. George Olola was in sin-binned minutes later but KCB went on to score again through Stafford Abeka. Impala scored the second try just before the 60th-minute mark, after Bernard Rotich quick reaction from a scrum. The try was converted by Opar and saw his side hit the 12 point mark.

Adunga’s penalty saw KCB close in on the 30 point mark while Impala at the other end were awarded a penalty try immediately after the restart. Marlin Mukolwe’s penalty send KCB to a 32-19 lead with five minutes to play and they would hold on to win the match,

In Kakamega, Kabras II missed out on a place in the finals after a 13-10 loss to Homeboyz. The Deejays converted two penalties to lead 6-3 at halftime.

Kabras retuned from the break energized and bagged a converted try for a 10-6 lead but it was Homeboyz who had the last laugh after bagging a converted try.

KCB II vs Impala 1. Nesta Okotch 2. Jerry Olola 3. Nelson Nyandat 4. Calvin Sule 5. Manasseh Oduor 6. Brodie Kagai 7. Elly Mukaizi  8. James Ochieng 9. Marlin Mukolwe 10. Stephen Osumba 11. Adrian Opondo 12. Stafford Abekah 13. George Maranga 14. Jeff Okwatch 15. Elphas Adunga

Replacements: 16. George Asin 17. Godfrey Otieno 18. Ian Indimuli 19. Brian Munyali 20. Paul Ombwayo 21. Mike Kimwele 22. Billy Isabwa 23. Mike Wekesa

Most Popular

To Top