Harlequins send Impala packing to reach Kenya Cup semis

Kenya Harlequins have qualified for Kenya Cup semis after a win 29-24 over Impala Saracens in the quarters staged at RFUEA Grounds.

It is a revenge of last season elimination which saw them exit after a 34-18 loss to Impala. Kenya Harlequins will now tackle KCB in the semis.

First attempt

Quins first attempted to go forward was successful as they managed to earn seven points from the visit in Impala’s half. A quick interchange of passes saw the hosts draw closer to the tryline and Dominic Osino would release Paul Kioko who earned them a penalty try after being tackled by Quinto Oongo as he tried to touch down.  Oongo was sin-binned as a result.

Impala responded immediately, Elkeans Musonye’s powerful run down the left wing saw him evade several tackles before diving over for the try. Sammy Oliech added the extras to draw level.

The Gazelles continued to enjoy possession after the try and Musonye produced another powerful carry to score Impala’s second try. Oliech added the extras for a 14-7 lead.  Quins staged a strong fight-back but they could not break Impala’s defence.

Charles Cardovillis charges managed to reduce the gap to four points thanks to a penalty by Lyle Asiligwa minutes before the halftime whistle.

Tense second half

Impala started the second half with Daniel Ndome being set off for 10 minutes and Quins camped in their half in search of a try. Their efforts paid off after several pick and drives. Mike Onsando crossed over for the try that sent the side to a 15-14 lead.

A maul on the left side of the pitch saw Patrice Agunda get his name on the scoresheet and a conversion saw them lead 22-14. Impala trimmed the gap after Anthony Nyandigisi set up Davis Makori who dotted Impala,s try. Oliech however, missed to hit the target from his conversion attempt.

The try sent the clash to a tense mode and several scuffles arose with Frank Wanyama being sent off. Despite his absence Quins intercepted the ball as Impala attempted to go forward and Edward Shitanda released Eric Shikuku who dived over for a try. Aluda Beda added the extras.

Billy Omondi scored Impala’s final try of the match as they exited the competition.

Quins: 1. Brian Obwaya 2. Edward Oseko 3. Paul Kioko 4. Mike Onsando 5. Tony Mutai 6. Patrice Agunda (C) 7. Herman Humwa 8. Kevin Angote 9. Dominic Osino 10. Eden Agero 11. William Ambaka 12. Frank Wanyama 13. David Ambunya (Vc) 14. Aluda Beda 15. Lyle Asiligwa

Replacements 16. Brian Waraba 17. Elisha Koronya 18. Melvin Thairu 19. Hilary Baraza 20. Peter Misango 21. Edward Shitanda 22. Erick Shikuku 23. Daudi Semwami

Impala Saracens1. Steve Juma 2. Daniel Ndome 3. Saul Kivumbi 4. Davis Makori 5. Erick Kerre 6. Elkeans Musonye 7. Tyson Okoth 8. Joel Omer (VC) 9. Samson Onsomu (C) 10. Sammy Oliech 11. Bill Omondi 12. Ishmael Mokaya 13. Anthony Nyandigisi 14. Quinto Ongo 15. Anthony Odhiambo
Reserves 16. Edgar Obino 17. Soita Wekesa 18. Erick Kopondo 19. Paul Mutsami 20. Xavier Bett 21. Sammy Oliech 22. Bradley Ochieng 23. Kelvin Ronnoh

Most Popular

To Top