Host & dates for Africa Olympic qualifiers announced

South Africa will host the 2019 Africa Men’s 7s which doubles up as the 2020 Tokyo Olympics qualifiers.

The qualifiers will be held on November 8th and 9th in Johannesburg.

According to Kenya Rugby Union, Holders Zimbabwe, runners up Kenya, Uganda, Madagascar, Zambia, Tunisia, Senegal, Morocco, Namibia, Ghana, Botswana, Mauritius, Côte d’Ivoire, and Nigeria are the sides that are expected to take part.

South Africa will wait for the final two rounds of the World 7s Series to know their fate. Should the African giants finish among the top four teams in the series, they will earn a direct ticket to the Olympics.

The single slot available in the qualifiers will then be filled by Burkina Faso if South Africa earns a direct ticket to the Olympics.

Zimbabwe are the defending champions of the tournament having beaten Kenya 7s 17-5  in the final held in Tunisia in 2018.

In the 2015 qualifiers, Kenya beat Zimbabwe 21-17 in the qualification tournament held in Johannesburg.

Most Popular

To Top