kabras beat Impala to seal top spot

Kabras managed to run in five tries past a determined Impala side to win 32-22 which sees them pick a bonus point that assures them a first-place finish with 74 points and a home final if they go past the semifinals.

It was the visitors who scored first six minutes into the game through Paul Abuto after the millers produced a series of phases to find space on the outside, Jonah Kubu adding the extras for a 7-0 lead. Tyson Okoth would then pull back one for Impala, Mark Kwemoi failing to add the twos for a 7-5 scoreline early on in the game.

Kabras would then extend their lead through Charlton Mokua who produced a strong carry to go over the line, Kubu again adding the extra two for a 14- 5. Impala wasted no time again to cut the deficit with a try from Bill Omondi to bring the scores to 14-12.

The first half was yet to bring more with Kevin Keegan put his name on the score sheet slicing through the Impala defence, Kubu missing the resulting conversion for a 19-12 lead. Former Kenya U20 Xavier Kipngetich would then make sure both sides went into the break level, scoring one from a kick and chase for a 19-19 score line heading into the breather.

Impala were first to put points on the board after the break through a Kwemoi drop goal to take the lead. The sugar men would then pile up pressure on the Impala defence before sneaking in their fourth, Kubu missing the conversion for a 24-22 lead. Skipper George Nyambua then extended the Kabras lead with a try in the corner after peeling away from a maul to score the millers’ fifth try, scores now 29-22. Jonah Kubu would have the last go with a penalty conversion for a 32-22 final score.

It is the first time in Kenya Cup that the Sugarmen are finishing top of the log.

Kabras squad: 1. Ephraim Odour, 2.Max Adaka, 3.Hillary Mwajilwa, 4.Brian Tonya, 5. Hillary Odhiambo 6.Charlton Mokua, 7.George Nyambua, 8. Claude Johannes 9. Dan Angwech 10.Kevin Keegan 11. Felix Ayange, 12. Nick Baraza, 13. Mario Wilson 14. Paul Abuto 15. Jone Kubu

Replacements: 16.Eugene Sifuna, 17.Brian Mayaka 18. Steve Olouch, 19 Kevin Kaboole, 20. Andrew Gathua, 21. John Mawe 22 Jervis Nyakundi

Impala Saracens 1. Steve Juma 2. Daniel Ndome 3. Saul Kivumbi 4. Davis Makori 5. Shem Joseph 6. Tyson Okoth 7. Elkeans Musonye 8. Joel Omer (C) 9. Xavier Bett 10. Mark Kwemoi11. Bill Omondi 12. Ishmael Mokaya 13. Anthony Nyadigisi 14. Quinto Ongo 15. Anthony Odhiambo

Replacements 16. Edgar Obino 17. Soita Wekesa 18. Eric Kerre 19. Steve Shammah 20. Bernard Rotich 21. Paul Mutsami 22. George Okowa 23. Kevin Ronoh

Most Popular

To Top