Scintillating Wokorach lifts Kabras past stubborn Machine

Ugandan sensational Philip Wokorach scored 21 points as Kabras wrestled to beat 41-22 Mean Machine in an entertaining match staged at University of Nairobi Grounds on Saturday. 

Kabras dotted the first try of the match, through Wokorach on the right side of the try box. Minutes later Victor Shaviya superb run saw him breach Kabras defence line and touched down beside the posts and left the home fans in wild celebrations.  The home side, however, failed to add the extras.

The Students were dealt a blow after Trevor Asina was sin-binned. Despite his absence Machine kept Kabras on pressure and the Sugarmen struggled to keep the ball in contact on several occasions.  It was till the 30th minute when Kevin Keegan sold a dummy, breached Machine defence and fed Ephraim Odour who scored for Kabras.  Wokorach added the extras for a 12-5 lead.

Machine hit back before the half-time break with two tries to lead in the match.  Charles Kinyajui dived over to bring the scores the 12-10. Machine then capitalized on a lapse in the defence to score through Cornel Omondi and lead 15-12. Asina was unable to add the extras.

Despite the pressure, Kabras went to the break leading after Kenyan International Felix Ayange linked up with Wokorach who touched down to take Kabras to a 17-15 lead.

At the start of the second half, Marvin Karungi and Brian Juma were both sent off for a sin-bin. As the clock continued to tick, Wokorach made a  visit in Machine try-box for the second try after effortless side-steps past Machine defence. He converted his own try to lead 24-15.

Subsistute Habil Malik’s powerful run on the left wing saw him add a try for Kabras and Wokorach added the extras to lead 31-15. At the other, hand  Machine were awarded a penalty try to move to 22 points.

As the final minutes approached, Ayange added his second try before Wokorach strolled past Machine defence to touch down his third try of the day.

Kabras 1. Ephraim Odour 2. Geoffrey Shitambasi 3. Asuman Mugerwa 4. Eliphaz Emong’ 5. Brain Juma 6. Charlton Mokua 7. George Nyambua (Captain) 8. Claude Johannes 9. Brian Tanga (Vice-Captain) 10. Kevin Keegan 11. Paul Abuto 12. Nick Baraza 13. Fabian Olando 14. Felix Ayange 15. Philip Wokorach

Reserves: 16. Max Adaka 17. Hosea Ngesa/Hillary Mwajilwa 18. Bramwell Mayaka 19. Geoffrey Messo 20. Dan Sikuta 21. Barry Robinson 22. Johnstone Mung’au 23. Malika Habil

Mean Machine 1.Ian Wando 2.Adam Mugo 3.Paul Ekirapa 4.Dominic Mogendi 5.Cornel Omondi 6.Alex Muganda 7.Trevor Asina 8)Aron Otieno 9.Marvin Karungi 10.Bruce Odhiambo 11.Charles Kinyanjui 12.Festus Shiasi 13.Alfred Orege 14.Victor Shaviya 15.Valentine Odoyo

Replacements 16.Mulinge Kelvin 17.Ben Mwangi 18.Kevin Otieno 19.James Oluoch 20.Evans Mwendwa 21.Antony Abonyo 22.Edwin Waithaka 23.Denis Nyongesa

Most Popular

To Top