Super rugby: Rebels Vs Highlanders squads

The third round of Super rugby finds Highlanders on the road to the AAMI Stadium, Melbourne where they face a crunching test against the Rebels who will be playing in front of their home crowd.

In yet another clash that pits sides from New zealand and Australia conferences, Hurricanes will be without the services of Aaron Smith, Ben Smith and Luke Whitelock who stay out following an all black rest protocol.

Josh Ioane and Bryan Gatland start at 15 and 10 respectively, Kayne Hammington replacing Smith while Elliot Dixon makes a comeback in the jersy 8.

Australian scrum half Will Genia starts at nine for the rebels partnering with Quade Cooper at flyhalf.

Highlanders have won six of their seven encounters with the Rebels who have won only once. The New zealand outfit will be looking to build on their fine form.

15. Josh Ioane, 14. Waisake Naholo, 13. Thomas Umaga-Jensen, 12. Teihorangi Walden, 11. Josh McKay, 10. Bryn Gatland, 9. Kayne Hammington, 8. Elliot Dixon, 7. James Lentjes, 6. Shannon Frizell, 5. Pari Pari Parkinson, 4. Jackson Hemopo, 3. Siate Tokolahi, 2. Ash Dixon (c), 1. Daniel Lienert-Brown.
Reserves: Ricky Jackson, Ayden Johnstone, Josh Iosefa-Scott, Tom Franklin, Marino Mikaele Tu’u, Folau Fakatava, Patelesio Tomkinson, Marty Banks

Rebels: 15. Dane Haylett-Petty (c), 14. Jack Maddocks, 13. Tom English, 12. Billy Meakes, 11. Marika Koroibete, 10. Quade Cooper, 9. Will Genia, 8. Isi Naisarani, 7. Brad Wilkin, 6. Angus Cottrell, 5. Matt Philip, 4. Luke Jones, 3. Sam Talakai, 2. Anaru Rangi, 1. Tetera Faulkner
Reserves: Robbie Abel, Matt Gibbon, Jermain Ainsley, Adam Coleman, Richard Hardwick, Rob Leota, Michael Ruru, Reece Hodge

Most Popular

To Top